• 73°

VOLLEYBALL: All-District 22-4A honors

MVP: Tori Leger, Hardin-Jefferson

Outside hitter of the year: Taylor Kile, Lumberton

Middle hitter of the year: Lexi Frazier, Hamshire-Fannett

Defensive player of the year: Renna Toomey, LCM

Setter of the year: Payton Sparks, Hardin-Jefferson

Newcomer of the year: Lilly Sims, Hamshire-Fannett

Utility players of the year: Ally White, LCM; Rylee Oceguera, Bridge City

Coach of the year: Nicole Parish, Hamshire-Fannett


First team

Hamshire-Fannett: Chloe McLeod, Caroline Ogden

Hardin-Jefferson: Kassidy Shackelford, Jordan Galle

LCM: Chelsea Perry, Morgan Weaver

Silsbee: Dakota Matthews, Brandis Bass, Kennedy Sam

Lumberton: Caitlin Hood


Second team

Hamshire-Fannett: Shawnee Craigen, Zoey Arceneaux

Hardin-Jefferson: Abby Swope, Haley Coleman

LCM: Caitlin Woods

Silsbee: Pressley Alaniz

Lumberton: Jade Moore, Isabelle Domingue

Bridge City: Aspen Daniels, Hannah Wiegreffe


Honorable mentions

Hamshire-Fannett: Shelby Walker, Shelly Carroll

Hardin-Jefferson: Emma Martin, Mackenzie Comeaux

LCM: Krystal Lester, Raley Broussard

Silsbee: T’nya Irvin, Emery Maze

Lumberton: Kaitlyn Hatten, Jordan Ward

Bridge City: Aleah McClanahan, Carissa Slaughter

West Orange-Stark: Alissa Brown, Shaelin Brown

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.