BOB WEST ON GOLF: Feemster, Dukes named Zaharias finalists

Published 1:02 am Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Finalists have been announced for the May 24 Babe Didrikson Zaharias Junior Golf Awards to be announced Thursday night, May 24 at the Montagne Center.

Former PGA Tour star Hal Sutton is the guest speak for the event.

For Boys Player of the Year, finalists are Jack Burke of Little Cypress-Mauriceville, Timothy Feemster of Port Neches-Groves, Caleb Folmar of Buna, Tyler Gonzales of Kelly and Jonathan Miller of Kelly.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Girls Player of the Year finalists are Kensey Dukes of PNG, Mackenzie Sears of Silsbee, Kendall Stewart of West Brook, Elizabeth Townsend of Kelly and Myra Truong of Kelly.

Boys Character/Leadership finalists are Brody Jeanes of Hardin-Jefferson, Jack Tindel of LCM, Collin Todora of Kelly and Jake Woods of West Brook. Girls finalists are Haley Boone of Hardin-Jefferson, Caroline Ogden of Hamshire-Fannett, Mackenzie Sears of Silsbee and Skylar Smith of Hardin-Jefferson …

The team of Ben Sherrod, James Shipley, Brent Buchanan and Drew Barnett fired a 20-under-par 52 to win the Estelle and Allen Fetters Center Scramble at Babe Zaharias, sponsored by the Groves Knights of Columbus. Closest to the hole winners were Olin Clotiaux (No. 7) and Cory Willis (No. 12). Long drive winners were Stephanie McGee (No. 3) and Sherrod (No. 18) …

Chris Stroud, who is teaming with Brian Stuard in this week’s Zurich Classic of New Orleans, was thrilled to see fellow PNG alum Andrew Landry win his first PGA Tour title Sunday in San Antonio.

Stroud texted: “So proud of you Andrew. Well deserved. Another win for Groves and the Pea Patch.”

PNG ex Braden Bailey was tied for 17th Tuesday at the 54-hole mark of the Big 12 Conference tournament. The Baylor junior shot rounds of 71-72-73 over par 70 Southern Hills in Tulsa. Baylor is in fifth place at plus 21, nine shots behind front-running Oklahoma heading into Wednesday’s final 18 holes …

In the Senior 50 Plus 2 ball Game at Babe Zaharias, the team of Craig Geoffroy, Gary Fontenot, Ron Mistrot and Larry Foster won the front with minus-3. On the back, the fivesome of Randy Monk, Larry Reece, Ray Darbonne, Dillard Darbonne and Richard Menchaca prevailed with minus-6 …

The Friday Senior 2 ball saw the team of Tom LeTourneau, Tony Trevino and James Trahan win the front with minus-2. On the back, there was a four-way tie at minus 1 between teams captained by Russ Gloede, Cap Hollier, Benny Sharpe and Joe Gongora …

Format for the Thursday Senior Game was Select Drive All Points Count. Placing first with 25 points was the foursome of Bim Morrow, Rick Pritchett, Tommy Duhon and Sid Ducote. Second with 22 was the team of Kenny Robbins, Robert Stansbury, Paul Duplantis and Menchaca.

Closest to the pin winners were Kyle Landry (No. 2), Morrow (No. 7), Larry Thompson (No. 12) and Pritchett (No. 15) . . .

The Zaharias Wednesday DogFight was won with 17 points by the team of Gongora, Gerald Huebel, Gloede and Duplantis. Second with 16 points was the team of Ed Holley, Reece, Dan Flood and a ghost player.

Closest to the pin winners were Jim Mercer (No. 2), Keith Marshall (No. 7), Brad Royer (No. 12) and James Trahan (No. 15).

Golf news should be emailed to