Sabine Pass ISD takes home UIL state championship

Published 7:29 pm Friday, May 29, 2015

The Sabine Pass Independent School District is ending the 2014-15 school year on a historic UIL academic season, winning the State Overall Championship for the fourth straight year.

Students set another Sharks record by bringing home 26 state medals, two individual championships and three team championships — spread between 18 students in eight different contests.

Andy Bates, Sabine Pass ISD curriculum director, said the district’s overall championship places the Sharks in “elite” company.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

“In the history of the UIL Academic State Championship, only three other schools — (out of) over 1,200 high schools in Texas that compete 1A through 6A — have ever won more championships in a row, and only seven schools have captured more titles,” Bates said in an email Friday.

SabinePassSharksSabine Pass scored a school record of 151 points at the state meet — winning its first District 2A title by defeating the second-place school by 50 points, Bates said.

The two individual state champions are juniors Alejandro Espinoza in accounting and Emma Walther in current issues.

Second place awards went to senior Darius Edwards in spelling and vocabulary, junior Valeria Perez in social studies, and junior Maxine Wright in computer applications.

Third place awards went to junior Zade Delgadillo in computer applications, Edwards in current issues, and senior Charles Gill in social studies.

Fifth place went to freshman Adrian Espinoza in accounting, sophomore Lakyn Schaller in news writing, and Walther in social studies.

Sophomore Barron Beard won sixth place in current issues. Seventh place awards went to freshman Lisseth Aguilar in literary criticism, junior Jessica Flores in computer applications, and Gill in current issues.

Walther won ninth place in spelling and vocabulary, while freshman Silvana Ocoa placed 10th in literary criticism.

Two seniors took home individual awards in the one act play competition: Jadon Booth won all star cast and Dalen Gonzales won honorable mention all star cast.

The team state champions are:

• Edwards, Walther, Gill and Beard for current issues

• Gill, Perez, Walther and Daniel Gonzales for social studies

• Edwards, Walther, Jessica De Luna and Odalys Terrazas for spelling and vocabulary

Other team awards include third place in accounting and fourth overall in the one act play competition.

Twitter: @crhenderson90