Early voting begins in Primary Runoff between Phelan and Covey; see important dates and times

Published 1:45 pm Monday, May 20, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Early voting has begun for the Texas House District 21 Republican Primary Runoff between incumbent Dade Phelan and challenger David Covey.

Early voting ends Friday.

Election Day is May 28.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

This month’s runoff was necessary after neither Covey or Phelan captured 50 percent plus 1 of the turnout in the March 5 primary.

According to the Texas Secretary of State election results, Phelan secured 14,547 votes for 43.24 percent of the turnout, and Covey came in with 15,579 votes or 46.31 percent of the ballots cast.

A third candidate, Alicia Davis, garnered 3,517 votes for 10.45 percent of the ballots cast.

To participate in the primary runoff, registered voters must live in District 21, which includes most of Jefferson and all of Orange and Jasper counties.

All Republicans are eligible to vote in the runoff.

All other voters who did not declare themselves as Democrat in the Primary are eligible to vote in the runoff.

Phelan, of Beaumont, was first elected to the seat in 2014. He has served as Speaker of the House of Representatives since 2021.

He lists his occupation as real estate developer.

Covey, former Orange County Republican Chairman, lists his occupation as technical advisor, per the Texas Secretary of State’s website.

The winner of May 28’s Republican Primary Runoff becomes the official party candidate for the Nov. 5 election

Early voting is available from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. through Friday.

Early voting locations are listed, and voters can use any location they want.

  • Rogers Park Community Center, 6540 Gladys Ave., Beaumont
  • Marion & Ed Hughes Public Library, 2712 Nederland Av., Nederland
  • Port Arthur Library, 4615 9th Ave., Port Arthur
  • Jefferson County Courthouse, 1085 Pearl St., Beaumont
  • Theodore Johns Library, 4255 Fannett Road, Beaumont

Election Day locations are listed, and voters can use any location they want.

  • Amelia Elementary School, 565 S. Major Drive Beaumont,
  • Bevil Oaks Civic Center 7390 Sweetgum, Bevil Oaks
  • BISD Administration Building, 3395 Harrison Ave. Beaumont
  • Precinct 1 Service Center, 20205 W. 90 China
  • Rogers Park Community Center 6540 Gladys Ave. Beaumont
  • RC Miller Library, 1605 Dowlen Road Beaumont,
  • Regina Howell Elementary, 5850 Regina Lane Beaumont
  • Dishman Elementary, 3475 Champions Drive, Beaumont,
  • Caldwood Elementary, 102 Berkshire Lane, Beaumont
  • Roy Guess Elementary, 8055 Voth Road, Beaumont
  • Jerry Ware Terminal, 5000 Jerry Ware Drive, Beaumont
  • Jefferson County WCID 10 Fire Station, 2024 Spurlock Road Nederland
  • Nederland City Hall, 207 N. 12th St., Nederland
  • Nederland Recreation Center, 2301 Avenue H Nederland
  • Ray Chesson Office Building, 19217 FM 365 Beaumont,
  • Jefferson County ESD No. 4, 12880 FM 365, Beaumont,
  • Marion & Ed Hughes Public Library, 2712 Nederland Ave., Nederland
  • Port Neches City Hall, 1005 Merriman St., Port Neches
  • Hebert Library, 2025 Merriman St., Port Neches
  • Jefferson County Sub-Courthouse, 525 Lakeshore Drive, Port Arthur
  • Port Acres Elementary, 5900 Jade Ave., Port Arthur
  • Port Arthur Library, 4615 9th Ave., Port Arthur
  • R.L. Gabby Eldridge Center 5262 S. Gulfway Drive, Sabine Pass
  • Hamshire VFD and Community Center, 12318 2nd St., Hamshire
  • Jefferson County Courthouse (Main Polling Location), 1085 Pearl St., Beaumont
  • John Paul Davis Community Center, 3580 E. Lucas Drive Beaumont
  • Precinct 4 Service Center, 7780 Boyt Road, Beaumont
  • Theodore Johns Library, 4255 Fannett Road Beaumont
  • Alice Keith Park Recreation Center, 4075 Highland Ave., Beaumont