Nederland teachers recognized for excellence in education; awarded $10K for Wayne A. Reaud Award

Published 11:59 am Tuesday, March 12, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Two local teachers have been awarded $10,000 apiece as part of their recognition as classroom difference makers in Southeast Texas.

The Beaumont Foundation of America made the announcements today as part 15 recipients of the 2024 Wayne A. Reaud Excellence in Education Award.

Local winners include Highland Park Elementary School’s Allison Morgan McBride and Nederland High School’s Robin McEachen.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Since 2009 the Foundation has recognized superior teachers whose dedication and leadership inspire students and fellow educators.

The awards provide public acclaim and financial rewards to teachers who are furthering excellence in education throughout Southeast Texas.

According to Wayne A. Reaud, chairman emeritus of the board, said education is the key to a better future, adding great teachers are the key to education.

“Our winners are outstanding representatives of excellence in education,” he said.

Teachers are first nominated by their campus committees. Winners are selected by the Beaumont Foundation and will be honored at an awards banquet May 14.

Each will receive $10,000 in recognition of exemplary contribution to the lives of their students.

The 2024 Reaud Excellence in Education Recipients:


Cheryl Spangler, Dishman Elementary School, Beaumont ISD

Allison Morgan McBride, Highland Park Elementary School, Nederland ISD

Leisa Miller, Orangefield Elementary School, Orangefield ISD

Betsy Richter, Silsbee Elementary School, Silsbee ISD

Cindy Brandenburg, Buna Elementary School, Buna ISD

Middle School

Rodondria R. Bradley, Pietzsch-MacArthur, Beaumont ISD

Candace Abshier, Hamshire-Fannett Middle School, Hamshire-Fannett ISD

Staci Glach, Vidor Middle School, Vidor ISD

Brittany Granger, Hardin-Jefferson Junior High School, Hardin-Jefferson ISD

Christy Campbell Haymon, Newton Middle School, Newton ISD

High School

Delcie Thomas, Beaumont Early College High School, Beaumont ISD

Robin McEachen, Nederland High School, Nederland ISD

Daniel Auchenbach, Bridge City High School, Bridge City ISD

Karissa Ellis, Kountze High School, Kountze ISD

Krystal Hayes, Woodville High School, Woodville ISD