Jefferson County voters make voices heard in Primary Election

Published 11:22 pm Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Early voting and Tuesday’s Election Day voting are complete in Jefferson County for the Primary Election.

The Primary is only for the two main parties, Republican and Democratic.

Candidates can have their name placed on the general election ballot if they are not affiliated with a political party, according to the Texas Secretary of State. The Green and Libertarian candidates nominate candidates via convention.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The winners from each party’s Primary are placed on the Nov. 5 general election ballot.

For Jefferson County-specific races, there was one on the Republican side, and that was for county commissioner Precinct 1.

For Precinct 1, incumbent Vernon Pierce secured 3,474 votes to top a challenge from Brandon Willis (2,338).

Locally on the Democrat side, there were contested races for State Representative District 22, sheriff, county chair, constable, justice of the peace and precinct chairs.

In the State Representative District 22: incumbent Christian Manuel secured 7,069 votes district wide for 73.47 percent to Al “Jamie” Prince Jr. (22.46 percent) and Luther Wayne Martin III (4.06 percent)

For Jefferson County Sheriff, incumbent Zena Stephens secured 10,681 votes to Shanter R. Norman’s 1,151 votes.

For Jefferson County Democratic Chair, Joseph Trahan, Alfred Dean

For Constable Precinct 1, Jevonne Smith Pollard won with 3,487 votes, compared to 1,516 for Donald Ray Jackson.

For Constable Precinct 6, Everett “Ed” Cormier Sr. won with 1,717 votes, compared to 697 for Lawrence Gobert.

For Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, Place 1, incumbent Naomi Eugenia Doyle won with 3,624 votes, compared to 1,355 votes for Pamela Terry Haynes.

Other results included:

Precinct 2 Chair: 2 Gurrnett Carrier (38 votes), Ron Mathis (82)

Precinct 5 Chair: Tasha Cole (90 votes), A’bria Gordon (32 votes)

Precinct 21 Chair: Isaih Pickens (27 votes), Kimberly Gobert (7 votes)

Precinct 22 Chair: Willette Samuel (133 votes), Wilmeretta Lowe (81 votes)

Precinct 68 Chair: Beverly Hatcher (152 votes), Jodera Deal-Richardson (26 votes)

Precinct 88 Chair: Sylvia Johnson (62 votes), Joy Terrell (20 votes), Mary Ekene (8 votes)