Election filing underway for cities and school boards; see dates and what’s up for grabs

Published 12:14 am Thursday, January 18, 2024

Filing for a spot on the May 6 general election began this week and end Feb. 16.

There are a number of entities including city, school board, port and commissions that will hold an election this cycle.

Early voting for the upcoming election is from April 22 to April 30.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Port Arthur Independent School District has three seats up for election that are currently held by incumbents Debra Ambroise, Brandon Bartie and Taylor Getwood.

Applications to file for a seat on the PAISD Board of Trustees can be obtained at the administration building, 4801 9th Ave., from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday through Friday through Feb. 16.

For more information on filing, call 409-989-6100.

Sabine Pass Independent School District will be electing two trustees. The seats are held by incumbents Phyllis Almond and Charlene Deslatte.

Terms are for three years.

Filing is from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays and 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Feb. 16.

Applications may be obtained at the school, 5641 S. Gulfway Drive, Sabine Pass, by mail at P.O. Box 1148, Sabine Pass, Tx. 77655 or email at cpicou@sabinepass.net

Sabine Pass Port Authority will be electing two port commissioners.

Filing is from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday through Friday to Feb. 15 and from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Feb. 16.

Applications can be obtained in person at 5960 S. 1st Ave., Sabine Pass, by mail at Sabine Pass Port Authority, P.O. Box 318, Sabine Pass, Texas 77655, or emailed at djennings@gt.rr.com or fax at 409-721-2399.

Nederland Independent School District has three seats up for election. They are currently held by incumbents Tonya Mitchell, Micah Mosley and Roya Scott.

The mailing address for Nederland ISD is 220 N. 17th St., Nederland, Tx., 77627. The district can be reached at 409-724-2391 or email to ecessna@nederlandisd.org

The City of Port Arthur, Port of Port Arthur Board of Commissioners and City of Nederland will not hold an election this year.

Jefferson County Drainage District 7 has three seats up for election. The seats are currently held by Richard Beaumont representing Groves, James Gamble Sr. representing Port Arthur and Matthew E. Vincent representing Port Neches.

The mailing address for the DD7 office is P.O. Box 3244, Port Arthur, Tx, 77643. They can be reached by calling 409-985-4369 or email to dsmith@dd7.org

Jefferson County Water Control Improvement District 10 has two seats up for election. One of the seats is currently held by John Wagner. The other seat was vacated Aug. 29 with the death of Hal Ross. The board appointed Allan Zumo for the unexpired portion of Ross’ term.

For information on filing call 409-722-6922.