Martin Luther King Jr. Brunch brings community leaders together in Port Arthur

Published 1:21 pm Monday, January 15, 2024

Hargie Faye Savoy may not have been physically in attendance at the 38th Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Brunch but she was in spirit and mind and heart.

Addressing a crowd of 600 people via phone, Savoy asked attendees to keep Dr. King’s dream alive.

“Let’s keep it moving. Let’s keep moving and keep going,” Savoy said.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Savoy, founder of the Martin Luther King Jr. Support Group of Southeast Texas, stepped down from top leadership of the organization, ceremoniously passing the torch to her daughter, Terry Savoy Hadley, during Monday’s event.

Hadley has been involved in the group her whole life, she said.

Sixteen people received special recognition Monday as honorees, including Destiny Mosely, who was in the recently released movie The Color Purple.

She said being named an honoree is a bit surreal.

“I love, and when I say I love, I absolutely love the city I’m from. I think it’s wonderful to see so many wonderful people coming from such a small city but doing great, amazing things,” said Mosely, a Port Arthur native.

Musical conductor, pianist, producer and arranger Glenn Alexander II is another honoree at the 38th annual celebration.

The Port Arthur Native said it means the world to him to be honored as he grew up attending the event with his parents.

“For me to be a part of it in this way, I can’t describe it,” Alexander said.

Keeping Dr. King’s legacy alive is important, he said, and what the Savoy Family is doing with the MLK group is innovative and monumental, he said.

The group also honored the 2024 Woman of the Year Naomi Doyle. She is Justice of the Peace for Precinct 1, Place 1.

“Mrs. Doyle has a charge and that is ‘the time is always right to do what is right,’” said Gail Castille, the 2023 Woman of the Year. “We hope that she will continue to pursue the dream that is peace, equity and equality.”

The 2024 Man of the Year is Lawrence Getwood.

Castille said Getwood exemplified a heartfelt desire for his community and showed it in his family, church and his work.

Honorees include: Toddrick Thomas, Deondre B. Moore, Destiny Mosley, Taylor Getwood, Constable Christopher Bates, Loretta Douglas, Germain Jackson Eddie, Alysha Hill, Erika Harris, Glenn Alexander II, Debbie Parker, Faisal Hussain, Stacey Lewis Jr., Jayven Jean-Louis, and O’Hsaquie Foster and Dylan Getwood.