Help us celebrate local students receiving Motiva Excellence in Education Scholarships

Published 12:12 am Thursday, June 4, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Motiva Enterprises is awarding scholarship funds totaling $180,000 to 40 high school graduates from Southeast Texas.

Recipients of the Motiva Excellence in Education Scholarship will receive funds to aid in their pursuit of a science, technology, engineering and math degree, or business-related undergraduate, associate’s or vocational degree.

Scholarship recipients are selected based on academic achievements, extracurricular activities, community service and teacher recommendations in partnership with local school districts.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Recipients from Mid- and South County, along with their chosen fields of study, include:

  • Bob Hope School: Ernesto Alvarez, process operating technology; Vicky Longoria, biochemistry; Luis Torres, business administration; Andrea Ochoa, business; Citlali Sanchez, business;
  • Memorial High School: Elyssia Thomas, nursing; Yesenia Jasmin Jazmine Alvarez, computer science; Ahtziry Benitez, biology; Jazmine Cabrera, business management; Raymond Galvan, chemical engineering; Emanuel Lopez, welding; Jenna Khuu, chemical engineering; Alaya Riles, nursing; Sammy Sosa, engineering;
  • Nederland High School: Colton Jackson, business; Taryn Hopper, nursing; Rafael Gutierrez, engineering;
  • Tekoa Academy: Landon Ardoin, instrumentation; Breiyon Chappell, welding technology; Haven Abraham, nursing; Camron Benjamin, criminal justice;
  • Port Neches-Groves High School: Jett Davis, biology/STEM; Rachel Garin, biology/STEM; Cade Latiolais, instrumentation technology; Jacob McCutcheon, business; Jake Plante, chemical engineering; Kacey Smith, nursing; Kendall Holman, ocean engineering; Santiago Agudelo, engineering;
  • Sabine Pass High School: Karen Magana, nursing.