• 57°

Check out all the District honors swept up by Nederland, Memorial & PNG

Future Texas A&M Aggies basketball player Hayden Hefner of Nederland was honored as District 21-5A’s Most Valuable Player for 2020, while his coach at Nederland, Brian English, was named Coach of the Year.

Hayden Hefner of Nederland sets up a play Jan. 7 in Port Neches.

Memorial swept up offensive and defensive player honors with Kenneth Lofton Jr. named Offensive Player of the Year and Nathan Clover picked as Defensive Player of the Year.

Lofton will be going to Louisiana Tech after graduation and Clover has committed to Oral Roberts University.

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Devonte Robertson of Cleveland.

First team All-District picks from Mid- and South County schools include Amaree Abram of Memorial, Khristian Curtis of Port Neches-Groves and Tyler Jackson and Joseph Gipson of Nederland.

Second team All-District picks include Memorial’s Asaad Bodden, PNG’s Brady Nail and Noah Marchak and Nederland’s Jarret Rahe.