Governor appoints 3 to Jefferson, Orange County Board Of Pilot Commissioners

Published 12:01 am Tuesday, February 4, 2020

AUSTIN – Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Chris Guy and reappointed Shawn M. Sparrow and Milton “Brad” Taylor to the Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners for terms to expire Aug. 22, 2021.

The Board of Pilot Commissioners has exclusive jurisdiction over the pilot services provided in Jefferson or Orange County, including intermediate stops and landing places for vessels on navigable streams wholly or partially located in the board’s jurisdiction.

Guy of Beaumont is the civil/structural department engineering manager of Lanier & Associates Consulting Engineers, Inc. Beaumont office.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

He is the vice president of the Sabine Chapter of the Texas Society of Professional Engineers and a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers. Guy received a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Lamar University and a Master of Science in Civil Engineering from The University of Texas at Austin.

Sparrow of Beaumont is vice president of The Houseman Companies. He is currently on the board of directors of First State Bank of Texas, Beaumont Main Street and a member of the Orange County Economic Development Corporation.

Additionally, he is the former chairman of the Greater Orange Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, former vice chairman of Greater Orange Area Chamber of Commerce Economic Development, former president of the Rotary Club of Orange, and served as a board member of and the West Orange Stark CISD Career and Technical Education Advisory Board. Sparrow received a Bachelor of Business Administration from Lamar University.

Taylor of Bridge City is chief operating officer of Sterling Shipyard L.P., president of Sterling Mechanical & Boiler Services, vice president of SHBS Development L.L.C., and vice president at Sterling Training and Services Group.

Taylor studied Business Administration at McNeese State University.