PNG’s Santiago Agudelo among finalists for Willie Ray Smith Award

Published 12:07 am Friday, January 24, 2020

PORT NECHES — Port Neches-Groves senior linebacker Santiago Agudelo is among four finalists for the Willie Ray Smith Award as Southeast Texas’ defensive player of the year.

Agudelo finished the season with 74 tackles, 60 of them solo, and 12 for losses. He totaled three sacks, three forced fumbles and broke up a pass.

Other defensive finalists are West Orange-Stark linebacker Tyrone Brown, East Chambers linebacker Christian Simien and Beaumont United defensive tackle J.K. Wilson.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Finalists for the Willie Ray Smith Award for offensive player of the year are Hamshire-Fannett quarterback Marcus Morris, East Chambers running back Nolton Shelvin, Silsbee running back Dralyn Taylor and West Brook quarterback Troy Yowman.

The awards banquet is scheduled for 6 p.m. Feb. 10 at the MCM Eleganté hotel in Beaumont.

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.