Early voting opens Monday for runoff elections

Published 2:56 pm Saturday, May 12, 2018

Early voting in the Democratic primary runoff election runs from Monday through Friday at five locations throughout the county.

One statewide and two local races are on the ballot.

  • District Judge, 172nd Judicial Court — Attorneys Melody Chappell and Tina Bradley are going head to head to lead the 17nd District Court, which is a civil court, not a criminal court. A civil court handles civil cases between individuals or entities.

Chappell, who works for the Wells, Peyton, Greenberg & Hunt law firm, has 25 years of experience.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Bradley of Hobson & Bradley has 20 years of experience.

Three Democrats were initially vying for the seat during the March primaries. Chappell had 6,109 votes or 43.66 percent, Bradley garnered 4,943 votes or 35.86 percent and Kent Johns had 2,823 votes or 20.48 percent.

The winner of runoff will face Republican candidate Mitch Templeton in the general election.

  • Justice of the Peace Pct. 8 — Incumbent Tom Gillam III is facing challenger Joseph L. Guillory II.

The JP race is a popular one that initially had four candidates: Gillam, who garnered 510 votes or 45.09 percent; Guillory, who brought in 260 or 22.99 percent over the vote; and Melanie Ned, who got 250 votes or 22.10 percent of the votes. Antoine Leonard Freeman got 111 votes or 9.81 percent.

Gillam was shy of the 51 percent needed to win the seat outright. There was no Republican candidate so whoever wins the runoff wins the seat.

Also on the Democratic runoff ballot are candidates for governor Andrew White and Lupe Valdez.

Early voting in the Democratic runoff will be from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday, at the following locations:

  • Beaumont Courthouse-main location, 1085 Pearl St., Beaumont
  • Rogers Park Recreation Center, 6540 Gladys, Beaumont
  • Theodore Johns Library, 4255 Fannett Road, Beaumont
  • Marion & Ed Hughes Public Library, 2712 Nederland Ave., Nederland
  • Port Arthur sub-courthouse, 525 Lakeshore Drive, Port Arthur

The runoff election will be held May 22.