VOLLEYBALL: PNG deflates Ball in 3

Published 12:00 am Saturday, August 19, 2017

The News staff reports
PORT NECHES — Port Neches-Groves has found its groove after a Tuesday loss to West Brook and starting Thursday’s run in the Dickinson tournament with a two-set defeat to Alvin Shadow Creek.

Kaitlyn Gil recorded 17 kills, Baylee Priddy assisted on 17 points, and PNG steamrolled Galveston Ball 25-12, 25-19, 25-2 on Friday in volleyball.

Priddy also served on 24 points for the Indians (9-4), who return to Dickinson today to play Galena Park at 9 a.m. Libbie LeJeune had 13 service points and nine kills, Rachel Hammersmith made 17 assists, and

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Elizabeth Bolyard made six kills for the winning Rock-A-Noos.
Bayja Newby led the Rock-A-Noo defense with seven digs. LeJeune added give, Gil four and Cece Garcia four.

PNG will take on either Nederland or Sweeny in the second match at Dickinson.

BEAUMONT — Port Arthur Memorial won its third straight match Friday, rebounding from a first-set defeat to defeat Kelly 16-25, 26-24, 25-23, 25-21.

No stats were available in the hotly contested match. Memorial (9-4) is scheduled to play in the Orangefield tournament today.

Also Friday: Bob Hope (3-4) was swept by Hardin-Jefferson 25-4, 25-14, 25-18, and Sabine Pass lost in four sets to Spurger.


HUFFMAN — Nederland’s girls cross country team finished third in a different kind of race Friday.

The Huffman Relays was just that — a relay of two-girl teams running 2 miles and tagging their teammates for the final 2 miles. The 6-mile boys race was 3 miles per leg.

The duo of Rachel Morrison and Claire Broussard helped Nederland take third with a total time of 1 hour, 31 minutes, 16 seconds. Pasadena Memorial won the team title (1:24:02), with New Caney (1:28:00) coming in second. Bridge City was fifth and Orangefield seventh.

Nederland came in seventh of 17 schools in boys standings at 1:50:40, paced by strong performances from the teams of Blake Mortera and Carlos Barboza, and Carlos Rodriguez and Jake Moore. Huffman Hargrave (1:42:25) won the title, followed by Pasadena Sam Rayburn, Clear Brook, Houston Heights, West Brook and Aldine Nimitz.

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.