LeJeune, Vidrine hailed 22-5A baseball MVPs

Published 8:09 pm Saturday, July 1, 2017

For many teams, the high school baseball season ended in May.

Port Neches-Groves was fortunate enough to play well into June, but even after winning the 5A state championship, it would be a few more weeks before District 22-5A would release its postseason honors. As suspected all that time, the Indians mopped up a majority of superlative honors.

Four Indians won three of the big awards, which were released Saturday. Second baseman Logan LeJeune and pitcher Nathan Vidrine were named co-MVPs, while third baseman Austin Bost and Nederland’s Chase Kemp shared co-hitter of the year accolades. PNG’s Scott Carter was named coach of the year.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Bost and LeJeune were consistent at the plate during the Indians’ championship run, while Vidrine, who finished 8-1, went unbeaten in four playoff decisions. Vidrine went the distance in three straight appearances and came on in relief with one out in the first inning of the 5A semifinal and cooled off Frisco Wakeland’s bats to earn the victory. Kemp had seven home runs to lead 22-5A.

Brendan Dunkleberger of Nederland was named pitcher of the year, Remmington Boykin of Lumberton was defensive player of the year and Conner Kemp of Nederland earned newcomer of the year.

First-team members include:

• Pitchers, Brandon Morse, PNG; Josh Hranicky, PNG; Trace McManus, Lumberton; Michael Colley, Vidor; and Grant Hendrix, Livingston;

• Catcher: Ryan Smith, Lumberton;

• Infielders: Steven Landry (first base), Vidor; Justin Smith (second), Livingston; Burke Badon (third), Nederland; and Elishah Simpson (shortstop), Ozen;

• Outfielders: Peyton Berg, Vidor; Jacob Vaughan, PNG; Hayden Guerra, PNG; Jace Bridges, Lumberton;

• Utility: Trevor Martin, PNG; and

• Designated hitter: Zach Halbert, Livingston.


• Pitchers: Braydon Credeur, Nederland; Caine Williams, Nederland; Brandon Petix, PNG; and Ezra Berry, Ozen;

• Catcher: Braxton Boudoin, PNG;

• Infielders: Michael Mott (first base), Lumberton; Noah Bunting (second), Vidor; Alec Townsend (third), Lumberton; and Brodie Smith (shortstop), Livingston;

• Outfielders: Marcus Foreman, Nederland; Alec LeBouef, PNG; Daniel Mitchell, Port Arthur Memorial; Conner McGrath, Nederland; and Morris (first name unavailable), Livingston;

• Utility: Salvador Bahena, Ozen, and

• Designated hitter: Austin Walles, Vidor.

I.C. Murrell: 721-2435. Twitter: @ICMurrellPANews



About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.