BH’s Anaya named 20-4A defensive MVP

Published 2:25 pm Thursday, April 20, 2017

Bianca Anaya of Bob Hope earned a defensive MVP honor in District 20-4A girls soccer.

The district released its all-district teams and superlative winners Thursday. Bob Hope had three players make the first team and three on the second team. Hannah Silveira of Bridge City was named the newcomer of the year, leading a contingent of three other Cardinals that were named all-district.

Bob Hope’s first team representatives were Jackie Cardenas, Bibian Anaya and Daniela Gutierrez. Cynthia Ochoa, Estefani Cardenas and Esme Cruz were placed on the second team for the Eagles.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

From Bridge City: Jillian Wilson and Madison Caraway are first-teamers, and Brinley Bell is a second-teamer.

Jessica Nevils of Hamshire-Fannett was named the district MVP. Top offensive honors went to Kourtney Baldwin of Little Cypress-Mauriceville and Brittney Little of Hamshire-Fannett.

Megan Brzezinski of LCM won midfielder of the year, Madison Novak of Hamshire-Fannett is goalkeeper of the year and Kayla Nichols of LCM is utility player of the year.

— I.C. Murrell

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.