LAMAR ROUNDUP: Lamar-Northwestern State finale iced

Published 11:38 pm Wednesday, March 29, 2017

NATCHITOCHES, La. – The final game of a three-game set between Lamar and Northwestern State, scheduled for Wednesday, was canceled due to severe weather expected in the area. No makeup will be scheduled.

Each team won one game in the series, each at its own home park. The Cardinals down the Demons 12-6 at Vincent-Beck and the NSU returned to Brown-Stroud with a 11-9 win over Big Red.

The Cardinals return to action in a big Southland Conference series at Vincent-Beck Stadium against Houston Baptist. First pitch of the three-game series is slated for 6 p.m. Friday.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


BEAUMONT – Lamar senior post player Kiandra Bowers was a second-team selection on the Southland Conference All-Academic Team the conference office announced Wednesday.

Bowers, who recently announced she is coming back for a fifth season in 2017-18, had an outstanding season on the court in the classroom. A second-team All-Southland Conference selection earlier this month, she averaged 14.3 points and 10.5 rebounds per game for the Cardinals, who were 22-8 overall and 15-3 in the Southland Conference, setting a school mark for conference wins in a season. Bowers leads the nation in offensive rebounding at 5.97 per game and her 17 double-doubles rank 12th in the nation.

Academically, Bowers has a 3.73 GPA. She will graduate in May with a bachelor’s degree in communication and will pursue a master’s degree at LU next year.

Bowers was recently named to Who’s Who Among Students in American University Universities and Colleges.


LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – The Lamar Cardinals moved three spots up the leaderboard on the final day of the Little Rock First Tee Class on Tuesday, finishing in a tie for fourth place.

The Cardinals shot a team score of 5-over-par 293 on Tuesday, the second-best team score of the round, to tie Central Arkansas for fourth place in the 13-team field at 883. The host Little Rock Trojans won the team title at 856, followed by Stephen F. Austin at 872 and UT Arlington at 879.