PA Council to mull OJT reimbursement

Published 5:01 pm Monday, March 13, 2017

The Port Arthur City Council will hold their regular meeting at 8:30 a.m. on Tuesday, March 14 at city hall, 444 Fourth St.

The Council will consider for approval a resolution confirming the motion made by the City Council that authorized the Port Arthur Economic Development Corporation to enter into an on-the-job training contract with Conduent for reimbursement of 50 percent of the training cost for Port Arthur residents not to exceed $168,000.

The PAEDC Board of Directors approved the contract with Conduent to provide training for home-based telephone customer service representatives at their regular meeting on Feb. 6.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Conduent will identify up to 200 residents who qualify and wish to be trained and have the necessary accessibility to be able to perform the work.

The PAEDC is authorized to allocate up to $168,000 of its training budget to fund reimbursement to Conduent for on-the-job training contract.

Wilie “Bae” Lewis Jr., District 5 city councilman, is requesting the city remit the payment to the Langston Scott Adams law firm for $50,737 in attorney fees.

Adams represented plaintiffs Reginald Trainer, Efrain Avendano, Paul Hulin and Herman Levingston vs. the city of Port Arthur in the 172nd District Court of Jefferson County pertaining to Edison Square Apartments.

On Jan. 24, 2017, the court entered judgment in this matter. The city filed a motion for reconsideration.

On Feb. 22, 2017, the court agreed to hear the reconsideration and the city’s objection to the payment of the attorneys’ fees. A hearing has been set on this matter on March 20, 2017. The amount of attorney’s fees the court will determine at the time.

Up for consideration is a contract between the city and the Department of State Health Service for funds for $25,278 for tuberculosis prevention and control. It would also cover expanded outreach services to individuals of identified special populations who have TB or who are at high risk of developing TB.

The funding would cover a portion of salaries and travel for the TB clinic in the health department.

The contract will begin Sept. 1, 2017 and end Aug. 31, 2018. It will require a 20 percent cash match of $5,056. This resolution is contingent on the 20 percent cash match of $5,056 being budgeted in the city’s general fund for FY 20-17-2018 budget.

Also related to the health department is approval of the FY 2018-2019 contract with the Department of state Health Service for $335,034.

This contract renewal will allow the city’s health department to continue a broad range of essential public health services by improving and/or strengthening local public health infrastructure through assessment, monitoring and evaluation of essential public health services. The contract term is from Sept. 1, 2017 through Aug. 31, 2019.

The grant funds three full-time employees.

The council will also consider the contract for the health department for the public health emergency preparedness program for $100,296.

The contract is from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018. The award requires a 10 percent match of $10,030 budgeted in the FY 2017-2018 general fund budget.

The funding supports the salary and fringe for one full-time employee.

The Council will deliberate on appointments to committees.

The Port Arthur Police Chief Advisory Committee consists of 18 members. The mayor and each Councilmember shall select tow Port Arthur citizens to serve as members of the committee. Each member shall serve a term of two years. If a member cannot serve a complete term, they shall be replaced. The Councilmember who selected this member shall select another citizen to serve the remainder of the term.

Thus far Constable Christopher Bates and Fred Vernon for District 2. Their term expires on Feb. 28, 2019. Roosevelt Petry for District 3 whose term also expires on Feb. 28, 2019.

Thurman Bartie for Position 7. His term would expire on Feb. 28, 2019. Mayor Derrick Freeman has appointed Yolanda Piedras and Rashad Harris whose terms expire on Feb. 28, 2019.

Members appointed/reappointed to the Citizen’s Pipeline Advisory Committee shall be considered for approval. They are:

  • Loveless Adams for Position 1 whose term expires on Nov. 29, 2019
  • Deral Segler for Position 2 whose term expires on Nov. 29, 2019
  • Harold Joseph for Position 3 on Feb. 28, 2020
  • Shawn Skinner for Position 4 whose term expires on Jan. 17, 2020
  • Warren Field for Position 5 whose term expires on May 27, 2017
  • Position 6 remains vacant
  • John Parker for Position 7 whose term expires Dec. 13, 2019
  • Kelvin Alvarenga for Position 8 whose term expires on Dec. 13, 2019
  • Earl Tizeno by the mayor whose term expires Nov. 29, 2019

David Ball: 409-721-2427