Some last minute filings made for May 6 election

Published 5:40 pm Friday, February 17, 2017

All of the races for the May 6 General Election of the Port Arthur City Council are now challenged.

Today was the last day to file for the election.

As of Friday, Thomas Kinlaw III, a Port Arthur ISD trustee, filed to run in District 3 against former Port Arthur Police chief, Mark Blanton.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Two additional candidates filed to run in District 4. Alicia Gayle Marshall, who ran for city council before, filed on Friday. Clonie Ambroise Jr., president of the Port Arthur Housing Authority board, also filed.

They will face Keith Richard, incumbent District 4 councilman, and challenger Harold Doucet, a former city councilman and mayoral candidate.

In other races, Cal Jones filed Wednesday to run against Tiffany Hamilton, incumbent District 2 councilwoman. Jones is a former city councilman.

Raymond Scott Jr., Precinct 1 incumbent councilman, will face challenger Janice Milo who ran for mayor in 2016.

Incumbent Charlotte Moses, At-Large Position 7 councilwoman, will face challenger Morris Albright III, former District 3 councilman.

Kaprina Richardson Frank, incumbent councilwoman for At-Large Position 8, will face challenger Kevin Christopher.

Filing for a spot in the May 6 city and school board elections ballots started Jan. 18 and ended Feb. 17.

Early voting is from April 24 to May 2. Runoff Election Day is July 1 if applicable.

In other races, the Port Arthur Independent School District, has two at-large seats open for 2017 election cycle.

Ray Meador, a former PAISD board trustee, and Michelle Snodgress, a former school board candidate, filed to run on Friday.

Incumbent Kenneth Lofton Sr. has filed for re-election on Feb. 9. Lofton has served on the board for nine years. Lofton works as a process operator for Motiva Enterprises LLC.

Dianne Z. Brown has filed for election on Feb. 13. Brown has served on the board before. She is retired.

In the Nederland Independent School District, there are two at-large seats open for 2017 election cycle.

Incumbents Marty Byrd and Kay DeCuir both filed for re-election. Byrd filed on Jan. 20 and DeCuir filed on Jan. 23. Both have served on the board since 2011.

However, as of Friday, Byrd withdrew his name so the election will be between DeCuir and Jerry Albanese.

Albanese has filed for election on the board on Feb. 14. Albanese is the owner of Meineke Car Care on Nederland Avenue.

In Nederland City Council, there are two seats open for 2017 election — Ward 1 and Ward 3.

Incumbents Don Albanese of Ward 3 and Talmadge Austin of Ward 1 have filed for re-election on Jan. 19 and Jan. 23 respectively.