Dallas shares writers’ 4A award

Published 9:06 pm Wednesday, February 8, 2017

West Orange-Stark was well rewarded for its second straight state championship by the Texas Sports Writers Association on Wednesday.

Future Lamar quarterback Jack Dallas was named co-offensive player of the year in 4A by the association, sharing it with Carthage running back Keaontay Ingram. Dallas beat Levelland quarterback Nick Gerber for the superlative honor by one vote.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Sixth-year WOS coach Cornel Thompson was named coach of the year, He orchestrated the Mustangs’ first-ever 16-0 season.

Dallas (5-feet-11, 185 pounds), who signed with Lamar a week earlier, passed for 2,415 yards with 38 touchdowns and rushed for 11 more touchdowns as a senior. Ingram rushed for 2,244 yards in leading Carthage to the 4A Division I championship.

Two more WOS seniors were named first-team defensive linemen, Morris Joseph and Mandel Turner-King. Kick returner K.J. Miller was placed on the second team.

Kennedale linebacker Baron Browning is the defensive player of the year.

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.