VOLLEYBALL ROUNDUP: PNG rocks Caney Creek in five

Published 11:44 pm Tuesday, November 1, 2016

The News staff reports

CROSBY — The Port Neches-Groves Rock-A-Noos are moving on to the second round after a five-set win over Conroe Caney Creek in the Class 5A Region III bi-district playoffs.

PNG won 24-26, 25-18, 21-25, 25-20 and 15-11 behind 19 service points from Bayja Newby and 18 from Hannah Jones.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Libbie LeJeune was the defensive star for PNG with 40 digs. Newby had 23 digs and Rachel Hammersmith finished with 20. Hammersmith also tallied 24 assists and Baylee Priddy added 17.

LeJeune led the offense with 14 kills, Kaitlyn Gil had 11 and Jones had 10. Gil led the Rock-A-Noos with four blocks and Elizabeth Bolyard added three.

PNG now faces Galveston Ball in the area round at either 6 or 7 p.m. Friday at Goose Creek Memorial in Baytown. Ball took out Houston Austin on Tuesday by the scores 25-15, 25-15 and 25-13.


SPURGER — Sabine Pass finished 4-6 in District 24-2A play, and the Sharks were well prepared for their first playoff appearance in at least four seasons.

The Sharks earned their first-ever bi-district round victory with a 26-24, 25-21, 27-29, 25-14 feat over 23-2A champion Groveton on Tuesday. They’ll meet the winner of Centerville vs. Kerens on Friday, which is likely to be held at Spurger.

The victory left Andie Myers, who took over as head coach just before the season began, in tears of joy as the match ended.

“To be able to beat a No. 1-seeded team in another district is mind-blowing,” Myers said.

Statistics were not available, but Myers was happy with the Sharks’ defense as well as the play of Korie Dominick on the front and back rows. She added Dominick and Baylee Battiste played the nets well coming up with key kills and blocks.

“We had the fight,” Myers said. “We did not give up. The attitude the girls had allowed us to take it all the way though the fourth game.”

In the 4A bi-districts, Huntington 3, Bridge City 2; and Diboll 3, West Orange-Stark 2.