Memorial’s Dorsey named trainer of year

Published 7:55 pm Monday, March 21, 2016

Lakisha Dorsey of Port Arthur Memorial has been named the Texas High School Coaches Association’s Trainer of the Year.

Now, she gets to go home to San Antonio to be honored.

“It was definitely a shocker being, No. 1, I’ve been a professional for just four years,” the San Antonio native said, “and that, No. 2, I’ve made enough of an impact in people’s lives for someone to vote for me.”

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Dorsey will be honored along with other award winners and members of the THSCA Hall of Honor Class of 2016 at 1 p.m. July 20 during a banquet at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in San Antonio. Tickets are $35 each and can be purchased from the THSCA Office or at the luncheon.

Dorsey is in her fourth year as a full-time trainer at Memorial for all of its athletic teams. She holds an undergraduate degree from UTSA and a master’s degree in athletic training from Stephen F. Austin.

She was nominated for the honor by Memorial football coach Kenny Harrison and was named a Region V winner during a THSCA regional meeting in Katy.

“Of course, now that you win here, [the THSCA said] ‘We’re going to take your nomination to the state level,’ [but] I knew there was somebody else who can win this before me,” Dorsey said.

Instead, the award will have her name written on it.

“I wasn’t really surprised,” Harrison said. “But she’s very deserving. She’s put in a lot of volunteer work. She volunteered to work in the Bayou Bowl. She’s worked a regional meeting the last couple of years in Houston, everything dealing with the Greater Houston Football Coaches Association [which organizes the Bayou Bowl].”

Harrison added, laughing: “I was very excited for her. With those type of accolades, I hope we keep her around for a couple more years.”

The latest THSCA hall inductees include former Texas High School Athletic Directors Association president Richard Avila, Smithson Valley football coach Larry Hill, former Midland Carver and Wisconsin assistant football coach Les Ritcherson, former Aldine football coach Bill Smith and former Idalou football coach Johnny Taylor.

Other award winners include Stuart Cunyus of the Hill Country Journal as the Putt Powell Sportswriter of the Year, Jake Walker of the East Texas Chapter (Curley Hays Officials Award), Mel Maxfield of Amarillo High (Tom Landry Award) and State Rep. Jimmie Don Aycock (Distinguished Service Award).

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.