Gauthier named Texas National Distinguished Principal finalist

Published 11:00 am Monday, March 14, 2016

The Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association have selected Julie Gauthier, principal of Ridgewood Elementary School in Port Neches-Groves Independent School District, as one of nine Texas National Distinguished Principal finalists.

The award recipient will be announced in May at a surprise school visit. That principal will receive $10,000 and represent Texas in Washington D.C, as the 2016 NDP.

“These exemplary principals are guiding the future and proving students from all walks of life can be successful,” TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart said in a press release.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

TEPSA received 97 principals for the 2016 NDP award. After a rigorous reading process, in which applicants shared their educational philosophies and accomplishments both in and out of the classroom, a peer-review committee selected nine finalists. These outstanding leaders then showcased their achievement during a school visit by a team of educators. Finalists will be recognized at the TEPSA Awards reception June 15 in Austin.

The NDP program promotes prekindergarten through eight grade excellence and focuses on the fundamental importance of the school principal. The program honors principals who exhibit extraordinary leadership, commitment to their students and staff, service to their communities and contributions to the profession, including professional associations.

Other finalists include:

  • Amber Barbarow, Arredondo Elementary School, Lamar CISD
  • Dana Boyd, East Point Elementary School, Ysleta ISD
  • Alisha Crumley, Crockett Early Education School, Grand Prairie ISD
  • Jay Fischer, Spring Valley Elementary School, Midway ISD
  • Monica Jackson, Anderson Elementary School, Frisco ISD
  • Aaron Pena, Woodway Elementary School, Midway ISD
  • Nickolas Smith, Woodgate Intermediate School, Midway ISD
  • Ronny Snow, Malakoff Elementary School, Malakoff ISD