Titans’ Granger receives coach-of-year award

Published 5:23 pm Saturday, January 30, 2016

BEAUMONT — Darrell Granger eats, breathes and sleeps track.

The Port Arthur Memorial boys track team this past year was proof Granger puts in a lot of work with his squad.

Granger was honored Saturday for his efforts by the Southeast Texas Coaches Association, receiving its Boys Track Coach of the Year award.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The Titans last year took second place at the Class 6A UIL Track and Field Championships despite only competing in three events. Manvel won the title with 55 points and Memorial finished with 44.

“This award shows the quality of the program we have been building at Port Arthur Memorial,” Granger said. “The kids have done a great job for me to receive this award. The kids have really bought in to what we are trying to do. I am just the person who is reaping these benefits. I told the kids that without them, I could never receive an award like this.”

The Titans did bring back some hardware from Austin last year. The 4×100-meter relay team of JaCorie Jones, Kameron Martin, Kary Vincent Jr. and Corey Dauphine finished second with a time of 40.59 to win a silver medal. It was the third fastest time in the nation in 2015.

Jones, Quantae Connors, Martin and Dauphine then teamed up to win gold in the 4×200-meter relay with a time of 1:24.29. Dauphine finished second in the 200-meter dash behind Manvel’s Deontay Anderson. Dauphine was the defending state champion in the race.

Dauphine and Jones graduated in 2015, but the cupboard is not bare for the Titans with Vincent, Connor and Martin all back along with some very fast newcomers.

“This year I am looking for the same thing as last year,” Granger said. “We always strive to be at the state meet with a chance to be a state champion. Our kids understand that and they are working to accomplish that goal.”

Port Neches-Groves’ Ricky Keyes was named Boys Golf Coach of the Year at the event held Saturday. West Orange-Stark football coach Cornel Thompson was named Football Coach of the Year after leading the Mustangs to back-to-back appearances in the state title game, winning it all this past season. WO-S’ Shea Landry was named Baseball Coach of the Year after the Mustangs’ trip to the state final in 2015. Orangefield’s John Davis was named Boys Powerlifting Coach of the Year.

The SETCA inducted former Lamar women’s coach Pat Parks, former Burkeville football coach Roy Harper, former area trainer Terry King and former Jasper football coach Thomas Brooks into the Hall of Honor.

About Gabriel Pruett

Gabriel Pruett has worked with both the Port Arthur News and Orange Leader since 2000. A majority of the time has been spent covering all aspects of Southeast Texas high school sports. Pruett's claim to fame is...being able to write his own biographical information for this website.

email author More by Gabriel