Go Texan Inc. bestows $65,000 in scholarships; Jefferson County students rake in the scholarships

Published 10:56 am Thursday, May 28, 2015

BEAUMONT — Thirty-two of the county’s brightest students will have a little help with their future courtesy of Jefferson County Go Texan Inc. scholarships.
Courville’s in Beaumont was filled with happy soon-to-be graduates earlier this week with 30 students getting $1,000 scholarships and two getting $18,000 scholarships.
Ryan Alli of Nederland High School was one of the night’s biggest winners with the $18,000 scholarship.
Alli is on the varsity tennis team, participated in University Interscholastic League academics, is a member of the National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society, Key Club and Terrific Nederland teens.
He plans to attend Texas A&M and major in mechanical engineering with a career path in the technical field. The Silicon Valley and Google are where he hopes his career path will lead him, he said.
Malorie Broussard of Port Neches-Groves High School was excited about the nights events.
“It is a privilege to receive this scholarship. I’m happy they chose me,” Broussard said.
Broussard is involved in the school yearbook and an Indianette. She plans to attend Lamar Institute of technology and major in dental hygiene.
Raegal Outley of Memorial High School is cheerleader captain and part of the  VOE program at Motiva and co-enrolled at Lamar State College-Port Arthur. She received a full scholarship to LIT from TOTAL, she said, and will major in instrumentation.
The nights events included words of inspiration from Joe Tortorice Jr., founder of Jason’s Deli.
The scholarship winners include: Ryan Ejaz Alli, Nederland; Shayna Katherine Berry, Hamshire Fannett; Malorie K. Broussard, Port Neches-Groves; Brooke Nicole Craigen, Hardin Jefferson; Hailey Anne Ferguson, Lumberton; Jass Derrell Gilfillian, Hardin Jefferson; Royce O. Horn, Hardin Jefferson; Norwood Tylor Landry, Hamshire Fannett; Kevin Wesley LeBlanc, Hamshire Fannett; Asim Nashael Momin, Nederland; Brenda Hong Nguyen, Memorial; Carolyn J. Perry, Corner Stone Christian; Haleigh A. Roberts, Ozen; Lakyn B. Schaller, Sabine Pass; Alexandra D. Thorne, Westbrook; Samantha Crowder, Hamshire Fannett.
And Jean-Luc William Baker, Hamshire Fannett; Bailey Diane Brevell, Port Neches-Groves; Madison Dawn Carney, Hardin Jefferson; Dillon Michael English, Port Neches-Groves; Austin Keith Franklin, Nederland; Patrick Taylor Greak, Hardin Jefferson; Callie Madison Jones, Hamshire Fannett; Brittany Latil, Hardin Jefferson; Mathieu S. Mewa, Westbrook; Jake Moore, Hardin Jefferson; Raegal Simone Outley, Memorial; Celeste Marquette Richards, Ozen; Cody Sahualla, Hamshire Fannett; Sophie Renè Stahl, Nederland; Hailey Tucker, Hamshire Fannett; and Jillian Tucker, Port Neches-Groves.
Celeste Marquette Richards, Ozen, was the second recipient of the night’s $18,000 scholarship.
Jefferson County Go Texan has been involved with the Houston Livestock and Rodeo since 1972 and is one of the original counties to participate in the Go Texan program.
Each year scholarships are awarded to Jefferson County high school students.
E-mail: mary.meaux@panews.com
Twitter: MaryMeauxPANews

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox