BOB WEST CHIP SHOTS — Jack Burke named golf Player of Year, inks scholarship to Texas State

Published 12:09 am Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Little Cypress-Mauriceville’s junior star Jack Burke won’t get to defend his 4A state title because of school closings, but he did pick up a couple of nice consolation prizes the past few days.

The biggie was a signing full-ride scholarship agreement with Texas State. It was huge for Burke because, with the NCAA giving an extra year to all collegiate spring sport athletes, there’s probably going to be a wild scramble for scholarships next season.

Burke, who will play for former West Brook golfer Shane Howell at Texas State, was smart to act decisively rather than rolling the dice on something better down the line.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

In addition to the Texas State scholarship, he was also named the Southeast Texas Coaches Association Player of the Year for golf…

In the Monday Senior 50 Plus 2 ball at Babe Zaharias, the team of Ted Freeman, Cap Hollier, Butch Cross and Dwayne Benoit won the front with minus 2. On the back, the foursome of Kenny Robbins, Danny Robbins, Scott Bryant and Larry Foster prevailed at minus 3…

The Super Saturday Senior 2 ball at Zaharias saw the team of the Robbins brothers, Buddy Hicks and Charlie Leard take the front in minus 2. On the back, minus 3 won for Rufus Reyes, Ron Lasalle, Larry Foster and Charlie Perez…

In the Friday 2 ball at Zaharias, the team of Don MacNeil, Rick Pritchett, Dan Flood and Roger Baumer won the front with minus 4. The back finished in a tie at minus 1 between the team of Bob West, John Jessen, Larry Johnson and Tom Brown and the foursome of the Robbins brothers, Ron Mistrot and Benoit…

The Wednesday Babe Zaharias DogFight was played in an all-points count format. Tying for first with 22 points was the team of LaSalle, Pritchett, Richard Menchaca and Thomas Watson and the team of Rufus Reyes, Danny Robbins, Charlie Perez and Ron Overstreet.

Closest to the pin winners were Bob Luttrell (No. 2) Charlie Perez (No. 7) and Danny Robbins (No. 12, No. 15).

Golf news should be e-mailed to Bob West’s column is sponsored by 5 Under Golf Center.