• 82°

Memorial’s Kenneth Lofton Jr., Nederland’s Hayden Hefner named to 5A All-State boys basketball team

Kenneth Lofton of Memorial and Hayden Hefner of Nederland have earned UIL 5A All-State status.

The two college signees were honored just days after receiving 5A All-Region III billing.

Lofton and Hefner led their teams to a share of the District 21-5A championship and the second round of the 5A playoffs.

Lofton, who signed with Louisiana Tech, averaged 17 points, 10 rebounds and three assists per game as one of Memorial’s post players. Hefner, who’s headed to Texas A&M, tallied 18.1 points, six rebounds and three assists as a Nederland senior.

Kenneth Lofton Jr. of Memorial blossomed into one of the state’s top post players. 

The rest of the 5A All-State team includes: Devin Avent of White Settlement Brewer, Tayton Conerway of Burleson Centennial, Jarren Cook of Carrollton Newman Smith, Bryce Griggs of Fort Bend Hightower, Sadaidiene Hall of Sulphur Springs, Baylor Hebb of Colleyville Heritage, Ja’Sean Jackson of San Antonio Wagner, Derek Luna of Sharyland Pioneer, Joey Madima of Mansfield Timberview, Jalen Mangum of San Antonio Northside Harlan, Marcell McCreary of Fort Worth Wyatt, Mike Miles of Lancaster, Arterio Morris of Dallas Kimball, Journee Phillips of Wagner, Jamal Shead of Manor, Pierce Spencer of Lake Creek, Wade Taylor of Lancaster and Ramon Walker of Shadow Creek.