LSCPA’s Thomas named first-team NJCAA Region 14 South Zone

Published 12:03 am Saturday, March 21, 2020

Lamar State College Port Arthur sophomore Devaughn Thomas has been named to the NJCAA Region XIV South Zone men’s basketball all-conference team after a vote by the league’s head coaches.

Joining Thomas as part of the South Zone superlative team are honorable mention picks Jamyus Jones and J’Son Brooks, both sophomores.

Thomas, a graduate of Comeaux High School in Lafayette, Louisiana, started all 32 games during the Seahawks’ 15-17 season. He averaged 17.1 points a game, hitting 53 percent from the field and 72 percent from the free throw line.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

He scored 28 points three times over a five-game span in January with two of those three game resulting in a win. He hit for 28 points against Paris Junior College on Jan. 8, Victoria College on Jan. 18, and Angelina College on Jan. 22. He scored 26 points in the Seahawks’ first-round Region XIV tournament game against Trinity Valley Community College on March 3.

Thomas scored 20 or more points 11 times and 10 or more 28 times. He had six double-doubles: at Paris Junior College on Jan. 8 (28 points, 13 rebounds), at Lee College on Jan. 29 (25 points, 13 rebounds), at Blinn College on Feb. 5 (17 points, 10 rebounds), vs. UpTempo Basketball on Nov. 1, 2019 (23 points, 10 rebounds), vs. Clarendon on Nov. 9, 2019 (13 points, 10 rebounds) and at Pensacola State College on Nov. 26, 2019 (14 points, 10 rebounds).

Thomas was the only player on his team to start every game this season, ranking No. 1 in Region XIV with 121 made free throws, No. 2 with 503 total points, and No. 5 with an 18.7 scoring average against Region XIV opponents.

Jones, a graduate of Memorial High School in Port Arthur, averaged 13.2 points a game, starting 31 of 32 games during the 2019-2020 season.

He dropped in a career-high 28 points in the Region XIV Tournament game against TVCC, his third game with 20 or more points over a two-week period and eighth of the season.

Brooks, a graduate of LaGrange High School in Lake Charles, Louisiana, averaged 7.8 points a game, starting 29 of the season’s 32 games in which he played. He scored a season high 24 points vs. Kilgore College on Jan. 6, recording a double-double performance against TVCC on Jan. 3 with 10 points and 13 rebounds.


All-Region XIV East Zone and South Zone Awards

East Zone

Coach of the Year: Mike Marquis, Tyler JC

First Team: Shahada Wells, Tyler JC; Deandre Heckard, Tyler JC; Dashawn Davis, Trinity Valley CC; Michael Thomas, Kilgore College; Rodrigue Tha Andela, Kilgore College

Second Team: Akol Mawein, Navarro College; Anderson Mirambeaux, Trinity Valley CC; E.J. Clark, Bossier Parish CC; Kelyn Pennie, Panola College; Cameron Gooden, Kilgore College

Honorable Mention: Tyler JC: Jason Bush Jr., Rory Pantophlet, Kieffer Punter. Navarro College: Souleymane Doumbia, Brian Washington. Bossier Paris CC: Paul King, Diamante Brown. Panola College: Kamari Brown, Jermaine Drewey. Kilgore College: Ty McMillan


South Zone

Coach of the Year: Will Wade, Angelina College

First Team: Travis Henson, Angelina College; Nick Gazelas, Jacksonville College; Tristan Ipke, Blinn College; Devaughn Thomas, Lamar State College Port Arthur; A.J. Rainey, Blinn College

Second Team: Christyon Eugene, Angelina College; Jackson Makoi, Lee College; Azariah Seay, Blinn College; Jacob Brown, Victoria College; Ishmael Cruz-Paris, Lee College

Honorable Mention: Coastal Bend College: Elijah Moleon, Lance Amir-Paul, Eammanuel White. Jacksonville College: Dancell Leter. Lamar State College Port Arthur: Jamyus Jones, J’Son Brooks. Blinn College: Pedro Castro. Angelina College: Gwarren Douglas, Kyron Gibson. Lee College: Keontae White, Chris Osten