Abram, Lofton, Hefner earn 5A All-Region III status

Published 12:01 am Saturday, March 21, 2020

Two Memorial Titans and one Nederland Bulldog earned their places on the 5A All-Region III boys basketball team this week.

Sophomore guard Amaree Abram and senior post Kenneth Lofton Jr. represent Memorial on the 20-player roster, while Nederland senior inside-outside threat Hayden Hefner earned the nod as well. Both Memorial and Nederland tied for the District 21-5A championship, giving the Titans their fourth straight shared or outright crown and the Bulldogs a share of their first title in eight years.

Amaree Abram of Memorial. (I.C. Murrell/The News) 2-28-20

Hefner is headed to play at Texas A&M, while Lofton is committed to Louisiana Tech.

Nederland senior Hayden Hefner. (I.C. Murrell/The News) 2-14-20

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Other All-Region members include: Rueben Fatheree II of Richmond Foster, Bryce Griggs of Fort Bend Hightower, P.J. Haggerty of Crosby, Chris Harris of Hightower, Jaylen Harrison of A&M Consolidated, Ronald Holmes of Houston Northside, Chris Marshall of Fort Bend Marshall, Tim Moore Jr. and Brian Myles of Houston Madison, Breion Powell of Pflugerville Connally, Pierre Sanders of Hutto, Jamal Shead of Manor, Pierce Spencer of Lake Creek, Jaylen Thompson of Leander Glenn, Ramon Walker of Shadow Creek, Jadarian White of Huntsville and Will Young of Shadow Creek.