See which Mid-County teachers won Reaud Excellence acclaim, $10K

Published 9:12 am Friday, March 13, 2020

Three Mid-County teachers have been named among 16 winners of the Reaud Excellence in Education Award.

The awards, each $10,000, “provide public acclaim and financial rewards to these teachers who are furthering excellence in education throughout Southeast Texas,” according to a news release.

The Beaumont Foundation of America has selected and recognized superior teachers whose dedication and leadership inspire students and fellow educators since 2009.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Five elementary school, five middle school and six high school teachers will receive the awards at a May 5 banquet. Among them are Angela Michele Lewis of Port Neches Elementary School, Kelsey Espinosa Thibodeaux of Groves Middle School and Vicki Black of Nederland High School.

Other winners include:

  • Elementary school: Donna Watson Neely of Kountze Elementary; Angie Perry of Little Cypress Intermediate; Meagan Smith of Sallie Curtis Elementary; and Heather Williams of West Hardin Elementary;
  • Middle school: Ashlee Ehrensberger of Henderson Middle; Nancy Anne Green of Vidor Junior High; Lynn B. Jones of Jasper Junior High; Juaune Saveat of Marshall Middle, Beaumont ISD;
  • High school: Misty Bellard of Orangefield High; Heath Gerlufsen of West Brook High, Beaumont ISD; Vicki Mouton of Lumberton High; Donna Wilke Schrock of Bridge City High and Debbie Smith of Jasper High.

“Education is the key to a better future and great teachers are the key to education,” Beaumont Foundation Board Chairman Wayne A. Reaud said. “Our winners are outstanding representatives of excellence in education.”

The teachers were first nominated by their campus committees.