Property tax bills have been mailed out throughout Jefferson County

Published 12:02 am Wednesday, October 16, 2019

BEAUMONT — Allison Nathan Getz, tax assessor-collector for Jefferson County, said the mailing of 2019 Jefferson County tax bills has begun.

The Jefferson County Tax Office collects for 28 jurisdictions, which include the county, cities, school districts and special districts located throughout Jefferson


Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The 2019 tax levy for all 28 jurisdictions is $622,766,121. There are 149,787 different accounts on the tax roll.

Taxpayers who sustained property damage as a result of a declared natural

disaster may be eligible to split their property tax payments into four equal interest free installments, to be paid by Jan. 31, March 31, May 31 and July 31.

For qualifications and requirements, follow the link

“We accept payment at all of our offices in Beaumont, Port Arthur and Mid-County,” Getz said. “Taxpayers may also mail their payments or use our website.”

Payments by cash or credit/debit card can be made in-person.

Payments by credit/debit card or e-check may be made by calling (866) 549-1010, or on the Internet at (use Bureau code 2228888).

2019 taxes become delinquent on Feb. 1, 2020. All property owners are reminded that failure to receive a tax bill does not affect the accrual of taxes, penalty or interest. If your tax bill does not arrive by Nov. 15, contact the Tax Office at 409-835-8516 for a copy.

— Special to The News