Election deadlines told: Doucet sworn in as mayor pro tem

Published 7:00 am Thursday, May 16, 2019

Staff report

District 4 Councilmember Harold Doucet was sworn in Wednesday as Port Arthur’s mayor pro tem, a one-year position. He replaces District 3 Councilmember Thomas Kinlaw, who rotated out of the position.

As mayor pro tem, Doucet will preside over meetings if the mayor is absent or disabled. The vote for the resolution, made at Wednesday’s special meeting, was 6-0.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Doucet’s tenure as pro tem will end in May 2020.

Kinlaw said he presided over three meetings during his year as pro tem.

In other action, the City Council canvassed the results of the May 4 election in which incumbent Mayor Derrick Freeman and challenger Thurman Bartie finished first and second, respectively, among five candidates in the first round of voting.

A runoff election for the three-year term will be held from 7-7 June 22, a Saturday.

Here are key dates for the election, according to the City Secretary’s Office:

  • Official drawing for the order of names on the ballot: 4 p.m. Thursday.
  • Deadline for filing first campaign finance report: May 23.
  • Last day to register to vote in the June 22 election: May 23.
  • Last day to receive an application, in person, for ballot by mail: June 7.
  • First day of early voting by personal appearance: June 10
  • Last day to receive application for a ballot by mail: June 11.
  • Early voting, 7-7, City Hall only: June 13.
  • Deadline for filing second campaign finance report: 5 p.m. June 14.
  • Late hours voting, City Hall only: June 18.
  • Last day of early voting by personal appearance: June 18
  • Last day to receive voted ballot by mail, first deadline: 7 p.m. June 22.
  • Last day to receive voted ballot by mail, second deadline: 5 p.m. June 24. The delivery envelop must arrive by 5 p.m. and have a cancelation mark showing it was mailed before 7 p.m. June 22.
  • Election Day: June 22
  • Official canvassing, special meeting at City Hall: 10:30 a.m. July 3.

Bellard said residents who did not vote in the May 4 election can still register and vote in the June 22 runoff election.