• 66°

SOCCER: Indians’ Lovejoy named 21-5A MVP

Jason Lovejoy of Port Neches-Groves was named District 21-5A most valuable player. And, he’s just a sophomore.

Lovejoy led the Indians to the district championship this spring and is one of two from the program to receive a 21-5A superlative award. Chad Luttrull was named coach of the year.

Five more Indians were honored as first-team all-district: senior forward Sergio Aguilar, senior midfielders Marlon Sandoval and Mario Oceguera, senior defender Jose Ceja and junior Ty Bigham. Memorial placed three on the first team: junior forward Andrez Hernandez, senior midfielder Isaias Rangel, and senior defender Marvin Fernandez.

Sophomore midfielder Payne Barrow and senior defender Kevon Landry represent Nederland on the first team.

Dayton won four of the superlative honors: Josh Mendoza for defensive player of the year, Hedil Cuatianaquiz for utility player of the year, Kevin Robledo for goalkeeper of the year and Bryan Martinez for newcomer of the year. Cleveland’s Edgar Interiano is the offensive player of the year.

Other first-teamers: Forwards David Perez (Dayton), Brandon Lemus (Cleveland) and Jackson LaPray (Vidor); midfielders Ethan Rangel (Barbers Hill), Jaime Pineda (Dayton) and Hugo Alcaraz (Cleveland); midfielders Elia Garcia (Cleveland), Hector Villarreal and Juan Medrano (Dayton) and Dormea Robinson (Barbers Hill); and goalkeeper Jose Lopez of Cleveland.

Second-team members: Forwards Marco De Los Santos (Memorial), Kaine Sanchez (Vidor) and Reagan Cox (Barbers Hill); midfielders Jesus Maldonado and Jonathan Alvarenga (PNG), Cooper Slott (Nederland), Alfredo Mendoza, Giovanny Loredo and Jesus Rivera (Dayton) and Jake Hain (Vidor); defenders Bryan Figueroa (PNG), Angel Garcia (Memorial), Eric Aviles and Evan Whitehead (Nederland), Roberto Faz, Anthony Elias and Marco Ruvalcaba (Cleveland), Mario Puente (Dayton) and Fidel Anaya (Barbers Hill); and goalkeepers Isai Acosta (PNG) and Luis Rodriguez (Memorial).


About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.