• 75°

FOOTBALL: Titans May, Hopkins win district superlatives

Two of the All-District 9-5A Division I football superlative award winners hail from Port Arthur Memorial.

Defensive lineman Lazarus May was named defensive MVP, and all-purpose standout Javontae Hopkins shared the outstanding special teams player of the year award with Sevonne Rhea of Porter.

May finished the season with 12 sacks and 29 tackles for losses, out of his 59 total tackles. He had 11 quarterback pressures, forced three fumbles and scored a safety and a touchdown.

Hopkins emerged as a running back standout late in the season while shutting down receivers as a cornerback with five interceptions (three taken back for touchdowns). He also returned a punt 55 yards for a touchdown.

Memorial earned three unanimous first-team selections: running back Branden Chaney, defensive tackle Da’Juan McMillan and safety Jacob Washington.

The all-district list (*-indicating unanimous first-team selection):

District MVP: Zion Childress, New Caney;

Offensive MVP: Zane Russell, Porter;

Defensive MVP: Lazarus May, PA Memorial;

Newcomer of the year: D.J. Harris, New Caney;

Special teamers of the year: JaVontae’ Hopkins, PA Memorial; Sevonne Rhea, Porter;

Coaching staff of the year: New Caney

First-team offense: Quarterback — Sam Johansen*, Kingwood Park; running back — Michael Mata*, Houston Austin; Anthony Robles*, New Caney; Branden Chaney*, PA Memorial; fullback — Shorn Young, New Caney; David Moore, PA Memorial; center — Brayden Mills, New Caney; offensive line — Felix Ivie and Anthony Martinez, New Caney; Luke Pavlat, Kingwood Park; Trey Rodgers, PA Memorial; Richard Martinez, Galena Park; tight end — Tavian Gipson, PA Memorial; outside wide receiver — Gerome Henry, New Caney; Alex Ned, PA Memorial; Baron Bradley, Porter; Demarcus Wiser, Austin; inside wide receiver — Tayler Baker*, Porter; Teajawon Mack, PA Memorial; Donald Harper, Austin;

First-team defense: Defensive tackle — Austin Fralick, New Caney; Da’Juan McMillan*, PA Memorial; Keoni Evans, PA Memorial; defensive end — Hayden Park*, Kingwood Park; Shorn Young, New Caney; Lloyd Garner, Houston Austin; outside linebacker — Cale Sanders Jr.*, New Caney; Jaylen LaPointe, PA Memorial; Trevor Clark, Porter; Pedro Saldana, Galena Park; inside linebacker — Jaquaylen Crook and Chris Thomas, PA Memorial; John Juneau, Galena Park; cornerback — Jaylen Neal, New Caney; Jatavian Neal, PA Memorial; Corey Perkins, Porter; safety — Ke’shaun Jnoffin, Goose Creek Memorial; LaDarion Henson*, New Caney; Jacob Washington*, PA Memorial; Acieon Fuller, Austin;

First-team special teams: Kicker — Jose Acosta, Porter; Punter, Ty Warwick*, New Caney;

Second-team offense: Quarterback — Kam Ladia, PA Memorial; running back — Eli Quintero, Galena Park; Dalton Roger, Kingwood Park; Kameron Tyler, New Caney; fullback — Mason Shoelen, Kingwood Park; Brian Blier, Kingwood Park; Jace Davis, GCM; tight end — Ty Warwick, New Caney; outside wide receiver — Tylan Johnson, Kingwood Park; Terelle Porter, Houston Wisdom; Julian Macias, Galena Park; inside wide receiver — Emerson Haywood, GCM; Canen Adrian, Kingwood Park; Isaiah Akin, New Caney; offensive line — Braedon Paige, GCM; Cephus Brown, Austin; Joshua Lazaro, Austin; Benico Cancino, Kingwood Park; Tre’Vonte Caines, PA Memorial; Shelton Munger, Porter;

Second-team defense: Defensive tackle — Jarrod Rickle, Porter; Christian Crooks, New Caney; Donaven Jackson, PA Memorial; defensive end — Jordan Thomas, PA Memorial; Connor Wood, Kingwood Park; Alex Paskie, Porter; Daldante Mayes, Austin; Dalton Williams, GCM; outside linebacker — Clay Sowell, Kingwood Park; Angel Alvarado, Wisdom; inside linebacker — Zhyon Bell, Porter; Thomas Kirby, Kingwood Park; Bradley Gurley, New Caney; cornerback — Will Smoot, Kingwood Park; Kaylye Jackson, New Caney; Kaleb Bailey, Porter; safety — Latteel Roberts, New Caney; Colton Mitchell, PA Memorial; Gage Royse, Porter;

Second-team special teams: Kicker — Kenny Pham, PA Memorial; Punter — Mohamed Kabre, Wisdom.

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.