• 72°

PNG’s Johnson etches name again on Super Team MVP award; Memorial’s Hines, Valsin players of year

Port Neches-Groves quarterback Roschon Johnson has been named the Port Arthur News’ Super Team MVP for the second year in a row.

Johnson closed his junior season totaling 63 touchdowns, including 35 of them passing. He completed 191 of 281 passes for 2,920 yards and rushed 220 times for 1,607 yards and 28 TDs. Johnson is committed to the University of Texas.

Elijah Hines of Port Arthur Memorial became another repeat winner with his second straight Offensive Player of the Year accolade. The senior running back racked up 1,401 yards and 23 touchdowns.

Memorial senior linebacker Jomard Valsin was named Defensive Player of the Year. Valsin led the charge on a defense that at one point had held opponents to fewer than 79 total yards per game and proved to be a sack machine for the District 22-5A co-champion Titans. Valsin was also named the 22-5A defensive player of the year.

Memorial’s Kenny Harrison, Nederland’s Monte Barrow and PNG’s Brandon Faircloth share Coach of the Year honors. All three coaches built playoff teams that had to overcome late starts to the season and deal with a compressed portion of the district schedule as a result of the effects of Tropical Storm Harvey.

This is the 46th year The News has organized a Super Team, but the third that only players from the newspaper’s coverage area are selected. Each Super Team member was nominated by his coach and invited to take part in a photo shoot Friday at the Museum of the Gulf Coast. The superlative winners will have their names etched in plaques that will hang in the sports wing of the museum.

The full Super Team is listed below. Stories on the superlative winners are upcoming.


Super Team MVP

Roschon Johnson

Junior QB • PNG


Offensive Player of the Year

Elijah Hines

Senior RB • Memorial


Defensive Player of the Year

Jomard Valsin

Senior LB • Memorial


Coaches of the Year

Kenny Harrison



Monte Barrow



Brandon Faircloth

Port Neches-Groves


Super Team

Blaysin Fernandez

Junior QB • Nederland


Keitha Jones

Senior QB • Memorial


Devon Simmons

Senior RB • Nederland


James Francis

Senior WR • Memorial


Preston Hughes

Senior WR • PNG


Kevon Latulas

Senior WR • Nederland


Preston Riggs

Senior WR • PNG


Cameron Stansbury

Senior WR • PNG


Jamal Dorsey

Senior TE • Memorial


Holden Lane

Senior P • PNG


Landon Sandell

Senior K • PNG


Matthew Buss

Senior OL • Nederland


Jaylen Garth

Sophomore OL • PNG


Josh Hranicky

Senior OL • PNG


Nakoven Lewis

Senior OL • Memorial


Kevin Miranda

Junior OL • Nederland


Brian Roy

Senior OL • Memorial


Sergio Ayala

Senior DL • PNG


Tiren Forney

Senior DL • Nederland


Logan Hammonds

Senior DL • PNG


Da’Juan McMillan

Junior DL • Memorial


Braydon Williams

Senior DL • Memorial


Austin Bost

Senior LB • PNG


Ja’Quaylen Crook

Junior LB • Memorial



Steven Hendrix

Senior LB • Nederland


Alec LeBouef

Senior LB • PNG


Brady Spell

Senior LB • Nederland


Chris Thomas

Junior LB • Memorial


Colton Beeson

Senior DB • Nederland


Landon Hiltz

Junior DB • Nederland


Javontae’ Hopkins

Junior DB • Memorial


Tyler Jackson

Junior DB • PNG


Greg Laday

Senior DB • Memorial


Noah Lewis

Junior DB • Nederland


Jacob Washington

Junior DB • Memorial

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.