SETCA names Christus All-Stars

Published 3:30 pm Monday, May 8, 2017

Bridge City’s Kayla Gallardo is among 10 head coaches named to lead Christus All-Star Classic teams next month.

Gallardo will coach the East softball team against the West on June 8 at Lamar University with first pitch set for 6 p.m. Two Beaumont Central coaches, Toby Foreman (East football) and Franklin Paul (East boys basketball) also will helm teams in the seventh annual festival (third under Christus’ sponsorship) organized by the Southeast Texas Coaches Association. Foreman will coach at Killeen Shoemaker next season.

The Christus All-Star Classic also includes volleyball, girls and boys basketball at East Chambers High starting at 5 p.m. June 9 and the football game at the Thomas Center at 7 p.m. June 10. A separate Southeast Texas Senior Showcase for girls and boys soccer will begin at 5 p.m. this Friday at Port Neches-Groves High.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

The SETCA announced rosters and head coaches for its games Monday:

  • East boys basketball players (head coach Franklin Paul, Central): From Central, Calvin Rice Jr.; from Ozen, Courtland Pender and Tyler Broussard; from West Brook, Curley Amacker Jr.; from Bridge City, Dane Piper; from Buna, Kerrion Lewis and Remi Connell; from Deweyville, Caden Hubbard; from Kountze, T.J. Stanford; from Nederland, Darrell Jones and Kevin Howard; and from West Orange-Stark, K.J. Miller
  • West boys basketball players (head coach Kevin Foster, Dallardsville Big Sandy): from Anahuac, Vincent Perry; from Barbers Hill, Jace Seymour and Parker Bunn; from Goose Creek Memorial, Jeremiah Broussard; from Hardin-Jefferson, Zane Zbranek; from Huffman Hargrave, Dillon Todd and Noah Pendergrass; from Hull-Daisetta, Kyle Rayon; from Livingston, Cameron Merchant and Jae’Vionne Green; from Shepherd, Kameron Wright; and from Tarkington, John Willis
  • East girls basketball players (head coach Jason Sanders, Lumberton): from Lumberton, Alix Sellers, from Central, Dereca Garrett; from Ozen, Essynce Templeton and Jyhnis Shaw; from Port Arthur Memorial, Kennedi Lofton; from Kountze, Kiara Cole; from Buna, Laney Castie and Morgan Lambright; from Orangefield, Paris Fregia; from Silsbee, Symone Carmenar; from Evadale, Torie Langston; and from West Brook, Robyn Onuorah
  • West girls basketball players (head coach Michelle Trotter, Crosby): from Barbers Hill, Kayla Konarik and Jaclyn Dobson; from Dayton, Londan Mallott and Jayla Pruitt; from Hull-Daisetta, Ashleigh Goudeau and Tekeea Landry; from East Chambers, Chelsea Guillory and Gia Simien; from Livingston, Gillian Yannazzo; from GCM, Keyawne Hill; from Buna, Jacie Gilbert; and from Baytown Sterling, Atlantis Thomas
  • East volleyball players (head coach Debbie Hollyfield, Evadale): from Bridge City, Abby Faulk; from Deweyville, Kennidee Willis; from Evadale, Torie Langston; from Hamshire-Fannett, Skylar Sawyer; from Lumberton, Maci Mott; from Nederland, Darcie Jones; from Orangefield, Ashlynn Turley; from Silsbee, Mallorie Brooks and Eranisha Carmenar; from West Brook, Jazmine Bridges and Blake Lewis; and from West Orange-Stark, Ja’Tayiah Vital
  • West volleyball players (head coach Casey Mulryan-Veen, GCM): from Barbers Hill, Madilyn Miles and Katie Jones; from Dayton, Sydney Brown and Jayla Pruitt; from East Chambers, Gia Simien; from GCM, Kelsie Walker; from Hardin-Jefferson, Shelby Sonnier; from Huffman Hargrave, Abby Frasier; from Liberty, Trenecia LaFleur; from Tarkington, Hope Biggs and Claire Chapman; and from Hull-Daisetta, Tekeea Landry
  • East softball players (head coach Kayla Gallardo, Bridge City): from Nederland, Hannah Smith, Madelyn Daniel and Amanda Longlet; from Bridge City, Meagan Sourdellia; from Lumberton, Kayley Goodhue; from Newton, Ashton Shawyer and Kayla Williams; from PNG, Alexis LaBure and Bailey Crorey; from Colmesneil, Krista Harris; from Buna, Jaeci Gilbert; from Little Cypress-Mauriceville, Jenna James and Ashley Short; from WOS, Elecia Barlow; and from Vidor, Taylor Frederick
  • West softball players (head coach Aaron Fuller, Barbers Hill): from Hull-Daisetta, Kendal Burns; from Liberty, Madisyn Frazier; from Splendora, Nanushka Garcia; from Barbers Hill, Kori Jewell, Meagan King and Tristin Anders; from Livingston, Kara Churchman; from GCM, Mariah Moyer and Kjirstyn Murphy; from Hardin-Jefferson, Grace Phelps; from Hargrave, Devyn Yanello and Josie Moore; and from Crosby, Kassidy Rhoudes and Breanna Russell
  • East football players (head coach Toby Foreman, Central): from Nederland, Ryan Leleux and Joseph Gallantine; from PNG, Zachary Murdock; from Bridge City, Cayce Draper and Joseph Adams; from West Orange-Stark, Mandel Turner-King, Jay’len Matthews and Jalen Powdrill; from Orangefield, Christopher McGee; from Central, Chris Boudreaux, Deshon Moreaux and Harold Redo; from Ozen, Sterling Winzer and Dejante Granger; from West Brook, Martin Brown IV, Jorge Ochoa and Kandin Robertson; from Sabine Pass, Brayden Miller; from Kelly, Simon Guillory; from Silsbee, Bruce Newton and Dakota Ard; from LCM, Alex Reed; from Newton, Brock Barbay and Deviun Kenebrew; from Kirbyville, Joseph Fentress, Ty Dennis and Austin Reeves; from Legacy Christian, Tavian Mayfield and Taydren Esprit; from Deweyville, Caden Hubbard; from Burkeville, Marcell Green; rom Buna, Matt Martin; from Vidor, Seth Smith; from Jasper, Decorrian Holmes; from Evadale, Casey Black and Josh Conner
  • West football players (head coach Chad Taylor, Liberty): from Hardin-Jefferson, Jayce Celestine, Talon Tilley and Bryce Cooper; from Dayton, Hunter Crooks; from GCM, Mason Pitts, Jakob Cordova, Cameron Nicholas-Francette, Hector Trevino, Brendan Johnson and Jeremiah Broussard; from Barbers Hill, Caden Hendricks, Cameron Swonke and Kaleb Jones; from Cleveland, Dawayne Smith and Kainen Gipson; from Anahuac, Denton Fugere and Deon Mayes; from Hull-Daisetta, Brandon Maughan and Kyle Rayon; from Liberty, Tyris Williams and Alex Brown; from Tarkington, Cody Pettit and Jullian Sullivan; from West Hardin, Tyler Snead; from High Island, Zach Bronkhorst; from Shepherd, Joshua Cronin, Bobby Burke, Quinlan Beck and Colton Boatright; from Chester, Colton Martin; from East Chambers, Landon McBride and Coby Smith; from Splendora, Tyler Johns; from Huffman Hargrave, Isiah Pate and David Holley; from Livingston, Terry Carter and Morgen Garcia; and from Sheldon King, Jonathan Morales.

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.