MHS’ Lofton, Sion named all-district first team

Published 5:28 pm Friday, March 3, 2017

Port Arthur Memorial placed two girls basketball players on its All-District 22-5A first team.

Senior Kennedi Lofton and sophomore Julia Sion were among 10 selections for the first team. Eleven were named to the second team, including Nederland senior Hayley McDaniel, Port Neches-Groves’ Tessah Miller and Memorial sophomore Dakayla Miller.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Riyah Collins and Cassidy Carter-Averett of Memorial were given honorable mention, as were PNG’s Taylor Johnson and Hannah Jones, and Nederland’s Malia Nicolasora, Da’Reyale Jones.

Central senior Anastacia Mickens and Ozen junior Mercedes Perry were named co-most valuable players in the district. Lumberton junior Megan Wilkinson is the offensive player of the year, Ozen sophomore Ashlei Kirven is defensive player of the year, Livingston freshman Hannah Hawkins is newcomer of the year and Ozen’s Tammy Walker-Brown is coach of the year.

Other first-teamers include: from Central, senior Dereca Garrett and junior Tamya Renfro; from Livingston, sophomore Gracie Hawkins and senior Gillian Yannazzo; from Ozen, Rochelle Harmon and Essynce Templeton; from Vidor, Jessica Trahan; and from Lumberton, senior Alix Sellers.

Other second-teamers: from Lumberton, sophomores Jolee Smith and Brooke Chance; from Central, senior Kaylan Matthew and junior Destiny McQuarter; from Vidor, senior Jacey Trahan; from Livingston, freshman Johnnyce Dirden; and from Ozen, sophomore Briona Nash and senior Jyhni Shaw.

Other honorable-mention players: from Ozen, Bikiia  Gipson and Devonae Smith; from Lumberton, Brittney Yarbro and Erin Talley; from Central, Alexis Cooper, Kiamani Joubert; from Livingston, A’Mya Handy and Jordan Potter; and from Vidor, Katelyn Vincent and Rylea Rutledge.

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.