The News’ 2016 Football Super Team

Published 5:42 pm Monday, December 26, 2016

Port Neches-Groves sophomore quarterback Roschon Johnson has been crowned the Most Valuable Player for The News’ 45th annual football Super Team.

Port Arthur Memorial took the remaining three superlative awards. Junior running back Elijah Hines is the Offensive Player of the Year, senior cornerback Kary Vincent Jr. is the Defensive Player of the Year and Kenny Harrison is the Coach of the Year.

Listed below is the 2016 Super Team:

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox


• QB: Kadon Harrison, sr., Memorial

• RB: Preston Hughes, jr., PNG

• RB: Devon Simmons, jr., Nederland

• WR: De’Andre Angelle, sr., Memorial

• WR: Keynel McZeal, sr., PNG

• WR: Preston Riggs, jr., PNG

• OL: Burke Badon, sr., Nederland

• OL: J.P. McDonald, sr., PNG

• OL: Leonta Dancy, sr., Memorial

• OL: Zachary Murdock, sr., PNG

• OL: Brian Roy, jr., Memorial

• OL: Corbin Smith, sr., Nederland


• DL: Kainen Collins, sr., Memorial

• DL: Tiren Forney, jr., Nederland

• DL: Luke Morris, sr., PNG

• LB: Jaecorien Barnes, sr., Memorial

• LB: Logan LeJeune, sr., PNG

• LB: Cole Robinson, sr., PNG

• LB: Jomard Valsin, jr., Memorial

• DB: Austin Bost, jr., PNG

• DB: Noah Lewis, soph., Nederland

• DB: Kobe Nixon, sr., Memorial

• DB: Randy Wistner, jr., Nederland


• PK: Lisandro Nunez, sr., Memorial

• P: Kenny Pham, soph., Memorial

• Return: Jacob Vaughan, sr., PNG

The Super Team is selected from players in the immediate coverage area (Mid- and South County) by members of the newspaper’s sports department. Each Super Teamer received a certificate for his accomplishments, and the players of the year and Most Valuable Player have their names engraved in special plaques that can be viewed in the sports wing of the museum.

Photos, unless otherwise noted, taken by I.C. Murrell.

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.