• 75°

Thibodeaux named 12-2A D-II coach of the year

In one of Sabine Pass’ best football seasons ever, the Sharks’ leader has been named the District 12-2A Division II coach of the year.

Jason Thibodeaux received the honor after a successful start to his second stint as the Sharks’ head coach. The Sharks made the playoffs for the first time since 2011 and went 6-5, all wins coming after an 18-game losing streak.

Ten Sharks were named all-district players, many of them on both sides of the ball. Dominique Wilson was named first-team quarterback and second-team defensive back; D’Coven Turner, first-team running back and second-team defensive back; and Jamyus Jones, first-team wide receiver and first-team secondary.

James Cerf and Leonard Ifield made the first-team defensive line and got second-team honors as offensive linemen. Glenndell Walker is a first-team outside linebacker and second-team wide receiver; Brayden Miller is a first-team inside linebacker; and Kirk Blood and Logan Odom made the second team as defensive tackle and linebacker.

Dahlton Gonzales received honorable mention.

— I.C. Murrell

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.