UIL to honor ’90-91 Bumblebees team

Published 11:53 pm Monday, February 15, 2016

The News staff report

Andre Boutte’s first state championship team at Lincoln will be honored as part of the University Interscholastic League boys basketball finals activities on March 12.

The UIL is recognizing teams that won state finals 25 and 50 years ago during halftimes of the championship games at the Alamodome in San Antonio. Boutte’s 1990-91 Lincoln Bumblebees, the 4A titlists, will be honored with the Moulton team that won the 1A title that season during the 2A championship game at 1:30 p.m.

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Lincoln, which consolidated into present-day Port Arthur Memorial in 2002, won its sixth UIL title and first of two under Boutte in 1991. Their last title came four years later.

Other honor teams for this year’s championship Saturday include the 1965-66 Gruver (1A) and Spring Branch Memorial (4A) teams, and the 1990-91 Hardin-Jefferson (3A), Abernathy (2A) and Duncanville (5A) squads. The Duncanville team included future University of Kansas and Utah Jazz star Greg Ostertag.


**CORRECTED to reflect location of this year’s state basketball championships**

About I.C. Murrell

I.C. Murrell was promoted to editor of The News, effective Oct. 14, 2019. He previously served as sports editor since August 2015 and has won or shared eight first-place awards from state newspaper associations and corporations. He was born in Memphis, Tennessee, grew up mostly in Pine Bluff, Arkansas, and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

email author More by I.C.