DAR awards 27 scholarships

Published 11:24 am Thursday, May 28, 2015

The Captain William Sanders Chapter, NSDAR, honored 27 graduates with scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each.

On behalf of the Chapter, Regent Pat Hyde welcomed the students, their parents and counselors who attended the presentation and reception on Tuesday, May 12, 2015, at White Haven on Lakeshore Drive. Regent Pat Hyde presented the certificates to the scholars in the absence of Scholarship Chairman Bernice Elgar.

Recipients this school year are:

Subscribe to our free email newsletter

Get the latest news sent to your inbox

Memorial High School:  Armani Alpough, Brenda Nguyen, Antonio Banda, Herman Washington, Jr., Darlene La, Bianca Moore, Vickie Jacquet, Andreana Ortiz, and Ashlee Barnes.

Nederland High School:  Hung Tran, Alex Fan, Ryan Culver, Blake Ford, Jassiel Martinez, Karlee Weaver, Ashten Morgan, Riki Hardy, and Kellie Duhon.

Port Neches-Groves High School:  Tala Abu-Shami, Payton Jordan, Blaire Dykes, Madison Browning, Aaron Desmond, Brant Dykes, Breanna Nguyen, Rheagan Langley, and Hannah Gerald.

Stella Corcoran White chartered the Captain William Sanders Chapter, National Society Daughters of the American Revolution here in Port Arthur in 1937. White Haven was her home. She and her husband established the Carl and Stella White Scholarship Fund strictly for educating young people. Scholarships have been given every year since 1988. Students from Jefferson County apply in their counselors’ offices and the Board of Higher Education at Lamar makes the selections.

Graduates will receive $1,000 credit toward educational expenses at the college of their choice. This makes a total of $27,000 given by Captain William Sanders Chapter for the year 2015 reported by Chapter Registrar Betty Brownlee.