, Port Arthur, Texas

Bob West

June 11, 2013

West golf notepad: Ron Theriot, Ray Woodard bag aces

PORT ARTHUR — Ron Theriot of Groves celebrated a hole in one for the seventh time last week when he aced the 120-yard, 2nd at Babe Zaharias. Theriot used a 7-wood. The shot was witnessed by Stedman Tahaney, Guy Van Cleave and Ray Trahan. Trahan also had reason to celebrate, as he beat his age by four shots with a 75 . . . Lamar University football coach Ray Woodard also got in on the hole-in-one action. Woodard sank an 8-iron on the 132-yard, 4th at Rayburn Country. Looking on in astonishment were Cardinal assistant coaches Bill Bradley, James Brown, Sydney Allison and Kevin Barbay . . . PN-G junior-to-be Braden Bailey got his summer schedule off to an impressive start with a T6 in the AJGA Ping Phoenix Junior at Arizona State’s Karsten Golf Club. Bailey, in a field of 57 players ages 16-18, most of them from the Western United States, shot rounds of 73-70-67 over the par 70 layout to finish at even par 210. En route to the closing 67, he carded a 30 on the front nine. His 210 was five shots off the winning score of Jens Verhey of Reno, Nev. William Gordon of Davidson, N.C. was second at 207, followed by Tyler Kerston of Paradise Valley, Ariz., at 208 and Cheng Jin of Singapore and Corey Shaun of Encitas, Calif. at 209 . . . Jarrod Brown fired a 73 to win Boys 16-18 in the Southern Texas PGA Junior Tour’s opening stop at Sunset Grove Country Club in Orange. Brown finished six shots clear of Thaine Tillie of Nederland and Jeff Rountree of Lumberton. Other flight winners Reagan Bodin of Nederland (98 in Girls 16-18), Drake Dodson of Vidor (78 in Boys 13-15, Lauren Cox of Orange (87 in Girls 13-15) . . . The 46th annual Silsbee Men’s Golf Association Invitational has once again put together the strongest field of any area event, headlined by the 2012 leading money winner on the Adams Tour Brian Rowell. Several other Adams Tour players are in the field, including 2011 Silsbee champ Michael Arnaud. Also competing for the $3,200 first prize are former University of Oklahoma standout Kelsey Cline, past Silsbee champs Tye Grissom (2010) and Corbin King (2009) and Joey Zamora (2005) and several Lamar exes. The Friday through Sunday event features 54 holes of medal play for the Championship/Pro and Presidential flights and match play in all other flights . . . The team of Roy Martinez, Pete Chauvin, Don Rucker and Dan Maxwell shot a 62 to win the Eagle’s Post No. 3743 scramble at Babe Zaharias. Placing second with a 63 was the team of Aaron Beavens, Reagan Stanley, Jordan Stanley and Jimmy Swain. Closest to the pin winners were Beavers (No. 2), Doug Staton (No. 7), Reagan Stanley (No. 12) and Martinez (No. 15). Long drive winners were Pat Radcliff (No. 4) and Judd Barron Jr. (No. 14) . . . There was a two-way tie for first place in the Babe Zaharias DogFight, with the team of Hollis Whorton, Cap Hollier, Don MacNeil and Charles Huckaby and the foursome of Jim Jordan, Mark Petry, Roger Koch and Malcolm Tiller both amassing 18 points. Closest to the pin winners were Hollier (No. 2), Roger Koch (No. 7, No. 15) and Jose Gongora No. 12 . . . The team of Bob Barnes, David Arnaud, Gene Hardy and Charles Perez finished minus 4 in a two-ball format to win the Seniors 50 Plus Game at The Babe. On the back nine, the team of Benny Sharpe, Dennis Wright and Billy Thillet won with minus 4 . . .The Senior Game at the Babe, played in a points format, was won at plus 16 by the threesome of Larry Padia, Rick Pritchett and Larry Rogers. Second at plus 8 was the team of Ray Trahan, Ron Theriot, Guy Vancleave and Stedman Tahaney. Closest to the pin winners were Theriot (No. 2, with his ace), Tahaney (no. 7), Van Cleave (No. 12) and Ken Fabre (No. 15) . . . The Super Saturday Game at Babe Zaharias was played in a 2-ball format, with the team of Adam Noel, Don MacNeil and Harry Green winning the front in minus 6 and the back in minus 1 . . . The Monday Seniors at Belle Oaks ended a three-way tie at plus 2 between Joe Vanderweg, Bill Taylor and Barry Jackson. Jackson was the closest to the pin winner on No. 15 . . . In the Friday Seniors at Belle Oaks, Jim Brown won with plus 5. Gene Jones was second at plus 4 and Barry Jackson third at plus 3. Vanderweg was the closest to the pin winner on No. 15 . . . The Third Annual Roy Esquivel Memorial Scramble is set for Saturday, June 22 at Brentwood Country Club. Format is a three-person scramble, the entry fee is $60 per player and it’s an 8 a.m. shotgun start. To enter, contact Brentwood pro David Bell (840-9440), Randy or Paul Poulter (727-7704) or Hayden White (749-4917).

Golf news should be e-mailed to or faxed to 724-6854.  


Text Only
Bob West
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage
Sports Tweets