, Port Arthur, Texas

December 7, 2012

Nederland-Georgetown kickoff box

The Port Arthur News


Nederland vs. Georgetown

When: 3 p.m. Saturday

Where: The Berry Center

Records: Nederland (12-1); Georgetown (13-0)

Series: Never met

Directions: Take I-10 West toward Houston. Exit onto Loop 610 North and take it around to Highway 290. Take the West Rd/Eldridge Rd exit off of 290 and turn left onto West Road. Turn left onto Barker Cypress Rd and the stadium will be on the right.

Nederland capsule: Nederland is playing in the regional finals for the first time since 2001, when the Bulldogs ended Friendswood’s undefeated season at Rice Stadium…. The Bulldogs are riding a 10-game winning streak right now. It’s the longest winning streak the team has had since 1959. That Nederland team, under Emmett McKenzie, went 10-0 in the regular season before losing 20-14 to La Marque in the bidistrict playoffs. … Nederland’s defenders posted some big tackling numbers against a heavy rushing attack from Dawson last week. Korbin Stampley broke his own single-game record this season for tackles with 19, one more than he had against Dayton in the bidistrict round. Koby Couron had 16 tackles of his own, a season high for him and the first time the senior defensive end has posted double-digit tackles this season. Safety Sage Seay had 15 tackles, giving him 71 for the season while Jordan Wood also had double-digit stops with 10. Wood is second on the team in tackles with 89 while Stampley leads the way with 139. … Kendrick Hopkins left the Dawson game two yards away from 1,700 for the season. He also needs just one more rushing TD for 15 on the season. The last Nederland back to score 15 or more in a season was Trevin Sonnier in 2010.

Georgetown capsule: Georgetown is in the midst of its most successful season ever. The Eagles have won more games than at any time in team history and made it to the fourth round of the playoffs for the first time ever. … Only three Class 4A quarterbacks have thrown for more yards than Georgetown’s Jake Hubenak this season while only one threw for more TD passes. Amarillo Caprock’s Michael Guerrero threw for 3,500 yards and 42 TDs in the regular season, topping Hubenak’s 3,032 yards and 40 TDs. Boerne Champion’s Kyle Poeske threw for 3,532 yards and 28 TDs while Sherman’s Dru Smith threw for 3,353 yards and 35 TDs. … Three of Hubenak’s receivers caught at least 10 TDs. Ryan Bedford and Austin Weston each had 13 TDs while Randy Knightner had 10. All four starters at receiver had at least 10 catches this season. Bedford had 56 catches for 1,000 yards, Weston had 43 catches for 835 yards, Knightner had 59 catches for 973 yards and Noah Douglas had 10 catches for 135 yards. … While the Eagles offense gets most of the attention, the defense is just as good. Defensive end Junel Barnes had 20 tackles for a loss this season and nine sacks while teammate Brock Drummond had 19 TFL and seven sacks. Linebacker Jace Lacaille had 114 tackles with 10 for a loss, two PBUs, one forced fumble and an interception.




QB – Carson Raines (18)

RB – Kendrick Hopkins (24)

RB – Brandon Dial (27)

WR – Michael Shaw (2)

WR – Seth Barrow (4)

WR – Colton Kimler (9)

OL – Justin Byrd (69)

OL – Jacob Brinkley (66)

OL – Cole Brown (62)

OL – Brock Pryor (55)

OL – Dannis Latiolais (63)


DE – De Shawn Washington (90)

DT – Caleb Malveaux (49)

DT – Brock Pryor (55)

DE – Koby Couron (92)

LB – Jordan Wood (25)

LB – Korbin Stampley (33)

CB – Zach Taylor (11)

S – Sage Seay (10)

S – Colton Kimler (9)

S – Bryce Whaley (8)

CB – Seth Barrow (4)



QB – Jake Hubenak (10)

TB – Tyler Moody (38)

WR – Randy Knightner (18)

WR – Ryan Bedford (8)

WR – Austin Weston (2)

WR – Noah Douglas (85)

OL – Jacob Hildebrand (72)

OL – Tyler Preston (57)

OL – David Vicars (66)

OL – Bryan Boatright (54)

OL – Calvin Anderson (65)


DE – Brock Drummond (32)

DT – Ryan Rickerson (48)

DT – Garrett Neiman (40)

DE – Junel Barnes (90)

LB – Chico Martinez (3)

LB – Jace Lacaille (42)

LB – Blair Murski (44)

CB – Matt McCullough (21)

FS – Trey Hicks (28)

SS – Brandon Boone (5)

CB – Mason Alexander (31)