, Port Arthur, Texas


April 15, 2014

Depwe Award finalists announced

PORT ARTHUR — The more time goes by the more awards seem to keep piling up for Nederland senior Colton Weisbrod.

Weisbrod has the chance to grab another trophy Saturday ,after he was named a finalist for the 2014 Raymond Depwe Awards for Best Center in Southeast Texas.

If Weisbrod wins this one, he will have to beat out Port Arthur Memorial’s Dorian Chatman and Beaumont Central’s E’Torrion Wilridge. All three players were named to the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches’ All-State teams.

Weisbrod averaged an 27 points and 13 rebounds for Nederland this past year and received the highest honor he could get by being named TABC’s 4A Player of the Year. The winner of last year’s Depwe Best Center Award, he is signed to play for the University of New Orleans.

Chatman averaged 17 points, 10 rebounds, three blocks and two assists.

The awards, which were originally known as the James Gamble Awards, will also hand out a trophy for the best guard. West Orange-Stark’s LaQuarious Paige, Ozen’s Jordan Hunter and Hardin-Jefferson’s Zjori Bosha are all up for the award and each of the three were All-State players this season.

    Paige averaged 18 points and five rebounds in 2014 and has signed with Indiana State. Bosha is expected to soon sign with Lamar University. Hunter has committed to play at New Mexico University.

    Silsbee’s Chris Elam, West Brook’s Khyce Randall and Memorial’s Joseph Williams are all up for Best Swingman. Williams, even though he was not listed as an All-State player, was a pivotal part of the Titans this year. He helped guide the team to the regional quarterfinals. Elam is the only one of those three to be named All-State.

    The awards program will take place from 6:30 to 8:30  p.m. Saturday at Holiday Inn Park Central.

    Those in attendance are in for a special treat as newly hired Lamar basketball coach Tic Price will be the keynote speaker.

Text Only
From the Fieldhouse blog