, Port Arthur, Texas

March 1, 2014

Lady Titans win YMBL relays

The Port Arthur News

BEAUMONT — First place finishes from Chakaylin Gilbert and Kristi Reed propelled The Port Arthur Memorial Lady Titans to the girls championship  Saturday afternoon in the YMBL/BISD Invitational Track and Field Meet.

Gilbert won the 400-meter dash with a time of 61.81. Central’s Cherish Greer was second with a time of 63.75.

Reed had a great day as she won the 300-meter hurdles with a time of 46.25. Nederland’s Marissa Clement was second at 48.40 and Lady Bulldogs Kinsey Miller was third at 48.87.

Reed was second in the 100-meter hurdles with a finish of 16.54, Central’s Paizley Armstrong won with a time of 16.04.

Memorial had a duo of runners place high in the 100-meter dash. Ry’Yon Bruton was second at 13.29 and Joyce Kennerson was third at 13.30. Ozen’s Ariela Mendenhall won the event with a time of 13.03.

The Lady Titans 4x100-meter relay team came in second behind Beaumont Central who took first with a clock time of 48.90.

Memorial’s Bruton, Carter Cassidy, Kennerson and Gilbert finished at 49.57.

Memorial also finished second in the 4x400-meter relay. The team of Reed, Jasmine Shaw, Kennedy Sanders and Kaelinn Warren finished with a time of 4:06.47, not far behind Ozen’s winning team who came in at 4:06.36.

Nederland’s Lauren Deese had two great runs of the event, one in the 3,200-meter run and the other in the 1,600-meter run.

Deese won the 3,200 with a time of 13:40.77. She placed third in the 1,600 at 6:20.14.

The Nederland duo of Sarah Nelson and Alyssa Gregory swept first and second in the pole vault. Nelson finished at 9-feet while Gregory came in at 8-feet, 6-inches.

Gilbert from Memorial was second in the long jump with a leap of 16-feet, 5.75-inches. Memorial’s Shaw came in third with a jump of 16-feet, 2.5-inches.

Nederland finished in fourth as a team with 84.5 points.

The Titans boys team’s 99 points were good enough for second, a distant second behind Beaumont West Brook who won the event with a whopping 180 points. It is the second year in a row the Bruins have won this event.

Memorial’s Corey Dauphine won the 200-meter dash with a time of 22.43, teammate Phillip Cole was first in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:02.84 and the squad’s 4x400-meter relay team of Dauphine, Kameron Martin, Jocorie Jones and CJ Levine won first at 3:26.74.

Nederland’s Connor Perkins took first in the 400-meter dash at 51.17 and Ryan Roebuck was second and Jace Garrett was third in the 1,600-meter run. Roebuck finished at 4:45.78 and Garrett was at 4:53.90.

Garrett finished second in the 3,200-meter run with a time of 10:36.93.

Memorial’s Labrie was third in the 300-meter hurdles at 42.99. The Titans 4x100-meter relay team of Marcus Younger, Jones, Martin and Dauphine had a time of 42.56 to finish second behind West Brook.

Nederland grabbed first place medals in both the high jump and the pole vault. Bulldogs jumper Ashish Marediya jumped 6-feet, 6-inches in the high jump to win the event and Travis Gallier went 13-feet even in the pole vault.

Labrie continued his solid performance with a first place medal in the long jump with a leap of 22-feet, 1.75-inches. Nederland’s Adam Richard was second at 21-feet, 4.75 inches.

Nederland’s Justin Carr came in third in the discus throw with a hurl of 132-feet, one-inch.