, Port Arthur, Texas


November 16, 2012

'Dogs, Dayton renew rivalry in bidistrict matchup



Dayton vs. Nederland

When: 1 p.m. Saturday

Where: Lamar’s Provost-Umphrey Stadium

Records: Nederland (9-1); Dayton (9-1)

Last meeting: Dayton 63-0, 2007

Series: Nederland leads 11-6

Radio: KLVI AM 560,

Nederland capsule: Saturday’s matchup will be the third time in two seasons that Nederland has played at Provost-Umphrey Stadium. The Bulldogs won both of their games at Lamar’s stadium last season, beating West Orange-Stark 21-20 to open the season and Goose Creek Memorial in bidistrict play 24-6. … Last year, Nederland snapped a two-game losing streak in the bidistrict round of the playoffs. In both 2010 and 2009, Nederland lost to Crosby to end the season. … Bulldog runner Kendrick Hopkins needs 149 yards to top 1,500 this season. No Nederland runner has reached that mark since Wareall Grogan ran for 1,595 yards in 2008. … Hopkins could become the fifth player in head coach Larry Neumann’s 20 years with the Bulldogs to top 1,500 rushing yards. Grogan was the most recent, but Micah Moseley had 2,462 yards in 2006, Ross LaBove had 1,897 yards in 1999 and Troy Sumrall had 1,601 yards in 1997. First-year Nederland assistant coach Farris Paddio came within two yards of joining the club in 1998 with 1,498 yards. …The Bulldogs will make a change on the offensive line for Saturday’s game. Sophomore guard Logan Albritton hurt his knee this week in practice and will miss this week’s game. Senior defensive tackle Brock Pryor will replace him and play both ways against Dayton. Though Pryor has started on defense for three seasons, he is being recruited by schools as an offensive lineman.

Dayton capsule: The Broncos finished the season 9-1 under head coach Jowell Hancock. The only loss Dayton suffered this season was in Week 10 to Humble Summer Creek. …  The Broncos are making their 15th straight appearance in the playoffs. The last time they missed the postseason was in 1997 and the last time Dayton lost a first-round playoff game was in 2005 to Beaumont Ozen. … Last season, Dayton beat Port Neches-Groves in bidistrict play 36-31 and Magnolia West 41-23 in the area round before falling to Manvel 49-10. … Quarterback Markain Chambers has led the way this year for the Broncos, passing for 1,004 yards and 12 TDs, with just one interception. …Running back Kyle McBridge was 10th in 19-4A in rushing yards with 568 and eight TDs. …The Broncos finished fourth in 19-4A in total offense, averaging 331 yards per game. Defensively, Dayton led the district with 204 yards allowed in nine games. The Broncos led the district defensively in both rushing yards allowed and passing yards allowed. … Kicker Juan Carranco followed up an excellent 2011 season that saw him as an all-state player with a great 2012. The senior made 41 PATs and five field goals in Dayton’s 10 games this season. He now has 337 career points with the Broncos.

Text Only
From the Fieldhouse blog