, Port Arthur, Texas

June 14, 2013

Schoolboy football All-Stars clash tonight at Lamar

David Coleman
The Port Arthur News

BEAUMONT —  BEAUMONT — East meets West once again on Saturday, as all-star football players from around the area square off in the fourth annual Southeast Texas Coaches Association All-Star football game. The two squads tangle at 7 p.m. at Lamar’s Provost-Umphrey Stadium.

 The East side will need to bounce back from a 14-13 loss last season to the West team in a game that saw former Beaumont Ozen quarterback David “Trey” Green led the West to the victory. The two sides have traded victories in the past three years, with the East team winning 20-17 in 2011 and the West winning 14-10 in 2010.

 Plenty of area faces dot the rosters for each side, giving local players one last chance to wear their high school uniforms.

 “I’m proud to represent the community and the school,” Port Arthur Memorial defensive tackle Walter Oliver said. “We get to show how hard we worked and show we deserve to be here. It’s going to be fun, basically.”

 Oliver and teammate Gregorie Johnson are both members of the East squad, along with Port Neches-Groves lineman Justin Reasons and Nederland’s Koby Couron, Seth Barrow and Zach Taylor.

 Couron will be playing in Provost-Umphrey Stadium one last time as a high schooler, though he played multiple games there for Nederland in the past few years. He’ll continue that string after signing to play football for the Cardinals in the fall. He’ll be the third straight Nederland player headed to Lamar that has participated in the game, joining 2011’s Dionte Forney and 2012’s Corbin Carr.

 “I’ve been lucky through high school, we’ve played here four or five times already,” Couron said. “I love the turf. It’s a nice stadium. I’m just glad I get one more chance to play with a gold helmet on, really.”

 Last year, then-head coach Jeff Mathews of Vidor had a problem with his roster — all the quarterbacks dropped out of the game. This year, East head coach Bobby McGallion of Silsbee won’t have that problem.

 He’ll have three very good signal callers at his disposal in the game, including Vidor’s Montana Quirante, who swept the Willie Ray Smith Offensive and Defensive awards this year, West Orange-Stark three-year starter Jimmy Salter and Beaumont Central’s Robert Mitchell.

 Mitchell and Quirante are both familiar to the PN-G, Memorial and Nederland contingent. In fact, Barrow has even caught a pass off of him in the past.

 “I’ve caught one pass off Robert Mitchell,” Barrow said. “It ended up being an interception. I have some experience catching balls from him. I’ve been watching him throw. He’s a dang good quarterback. He’s got a rocket arm. Our QB Carson (Raines) had a very good arm. Robert’s comes in there with a little bit more zip, though.”

 Many players, like Reasons (SFA), Oliver (Morgan State), Couron and Johnson (Missouri Valley), will go on to play college football in the fall. Others, like Barrow, might be strapping on the football pads for the last time.

 That’s what makes this game special, giving players one last chance to play against former rivals and enjoy the game.

 “It’ll be fun,” Barrow said. “I was really excited about it. After the Georgetown game (when Nederland lost in the state quarterfinals) when I got knocked out of the game with an injury, I thought that was the last football game I’d ever play. I’m not very big, so I’m not getting a football scholarship anywhere.

 “It should be fun. Football is always competitive. I’ve been meeting a lot of the guys out here. They want to compete, but they also want to have fun. That’s what this game is all about.”






1     Collins, Dermarcus         Jasper

2     Samuels, Trent             Central

3     Haywood, Red            Kirbyville

4     Barrow, Seth            Nederland

5    Lewis, Jacob            Sabine Pass

6    Bourque, Garrett        Lumberton

7    Cooper, Darion            Kirbyville

8    Salter, Jimmy            WOS

9    Como, Tyran            Orangefield

10    Scott, Kendrick            Silsbee

11    Taylor, Zach            Nederland

12    Mitchell, Robert            Central

13    Cervenka, Tanner        Bridge City

16    Burrell, Cody            H-F

17    Johnson, Greg            PA Memorial

19    Lockhart, Dominique        Woodville

20    Bickham, Caleb            LCM

23    Quirante, Montana        Vidor

24    Brown, Jordan            H-F

28    Kahla, Lane            High Island

33    Boudreaux, Coleton        LCM

35    Simien, Abear            WOS

36    Oliver, Walter            PA Memorial

42    Rodgers, Johnny        Silsbee

44/55    Van Pelt, Eric        Newton

45    Cole, Zach                Bridge City

46    Haynes, Dranzel        Jasper

58    Blanchard, Josh            Bridge City

60    Rutledge, Austin        WOS

62    Champion, Chris        Buna

65    Vaughn, Brendon        PA Memorial

67    Howlett, Tyler            LCM

68    Keene, Jacob            Kirbyville

69    Evans, Michael            Warren

72    Reasons, Justin            PNG

77    Limbrick, Dominic        Jasper

89    Brinson, Daniel            Deweyville

92    Couron, Koby            Nederland


Bobby McGallion-  Head Coach

Kyle Mackey

Hiawatha Hickman

Trainer: Jeffery Gibson

David Drake

Bobby Woodard

Shane McGallion

Jason Morgan

Ira Brooks

Michael Nelson



1    Jones, Jakobi            Ozen

2    Harper, Darrion            Kountze

3    Vandeventer, Adam        Liberty

4    Jones, Nate            Shepherd

5    Scott, Alfred            Coldspring

6    Jones, Keilan            Kountze

7    Deandre Smith            West Brook

8    Raymond, Wyatt        Anahuac

10    Buckner, Lyle            Crosby

11    Collins, Damion            Livingston

12    Tillett, Matt            Barbers Hill

13    Williams, Kourtney        Ozen

14    McBride, Cameron        West Brook

17    Walter, Justin            Crosby

18    Matthews, Shaquan        Crosby

20    Johnson, Raliegh        Ozen

21    Henry, Martice            Anahuac

22    Norman, Joele            CE King

23    Robertson, Quade        H-J

24    Cooper, Tre            Coldspring

25    Jammer, Eric            Shepherd

27    Roberts, Glenn            East Chambers

40    Michael, Andrew        Ozen

42    Jackson, De'Ondre        Livingston

45    Swint, Jonathan        Coldspring

50    Knotts, Austin            Barbers Hill

53    Nash, Tyrone            CE King

54    West, Brandon            West Brook

55    Jacobs, Dylan            Splendora

56    Vasquez, Jacob            Cleveland

58    Taylor, Brody            Hardin

65    Mizell, Jacob            Coldspring

66    Rising, Hunter            East Chambers

68    Bergeron, Hunter        Anahuac

70    Rodriguez, Reji            Barbers Hill

72    Bergstrom, Dillon        Barbers Hill

78    Stanley, Thomas        H-D

79    Gloston, Peter            H-J

85    Lilley, Casey            Coldspring


Ronnie Gage- Head Coach

Buddy Griffin

Trainers: Adam Carrell

Terry Goode

Gina Pace

Kevin Kilgo

James Gage

Bruce Taylor

Darren Seymour

Trey Lewis

Freddie Strange