, Port Arthur, Texas


May 25, 2013

All district baseball, softball teams announced

PORT ARTHUR — Big names dominated the baseball and softball season in the area this season, so it’s no surprise that those big names also dominated the all-district lists.

Nederland’s baseball team returned to the top of District 20-4A and put a host of Bulldogs on the first and second team. PN-G’s freshman phenom Ryan Leckich earned district superlatives while, on the softball side, Little Cypress-Mauriceville pitcher Raven Cole proved the most valuable player in District 20-4A.

On the boys side of 20-4A, Nederland’s Carson Raines was named most valuable player. The versatile Raines made his presence felt on the mound and at the plate to garner the district’s top award.

PN-G had a pair of superlatives at the top of the baseball list. Shortstop Dylan Saatzer was named the district’s Defensive MVP while the aforementioned Leckich ws the Newcomer of the Year.

Nederland head coach Cody Robbins shared Coach of the Year honors with Lumberton’s Mike Stewart.

Six of Nederland’s starters made first team or higher this season, including both starting pitchers for most of district. In addition to Raines, right-hander Mitchell Sanderson was named first team as a pitcher. Teammates Aaron Sampere (first base), Michael Shaw (second base), Seth Barrow (outfield), Jared Ramoin (third base) and Jordan Wood (outfield) also made first team.

Rounding out Nederland’s honorees were catcher Bryan Feltman, outfielder Gabe Nevala, second baseman Tyler Spell and shortstop Brandon Self on the second team.

PN-G had most of its starting nine also on the district’s top squad. In addition to Saatzer and Leckich, right-hander Logan Ashworth was named to the first team as a pitcher. They are joined by Daniel Mullins (second base), Dillon Hebert (outfield) on the first team. Teammates Lance Ledoux (pitcher), Mason Vizena (third base), Kaleb Clark (outfield) and Yancey Foster (catcher) were named to the second team.

On the softball side, Cole led LC-M to a district title and a 14-1 district record, but the right-hander had plenty of company on the all-district squad. Teammate Kassie James was named Offensive MVP while six other Lady Bears were also honored on the first or second teams.

PN-G tied for second place in the district and had plenty of representation on the team. Third baseman Katie Lee was named Newcomer of the Year while teammate Ricki Gilbert was named first team infield.

On the second team for PN-G were Shelby Valentine (pitcher), Ryanne Lunceford (catcher) and Nicole Thorn (outfield).

Nederland placed three players on the first team. Pitcher MaKayla Kelly joined third baseman Kelsey Beard and outfielder Tori Cooper on the first team while teammates Nicole Matise (catcher), Jensen Richard (infield) and Savana Guidry (infield) made the second team.

District 21-5A’s baseball awards feature one of the most nationally recognizable names. District MVP Josh Pettitte is the son of current Yankee and former Astros left-hander Andy Pettitte. The younger Pettitte helped his team to an undefeated district title and hurled a no-hitter earlier this season against Boerne.

He was joined on the superlatives list by Port Arthur Memorial’s own phenom, freshman shortstop Ramiro Sanchez, who was named Newcomer of the Year.

Memorial had four other players named to the honorable mention team. Senior Jokusay Nakao (second base), junior Gama Martinez (outfield), senior Robert Howard (pitcher) and sophomore Jonathan Sanchez (third base) all made the honorable mention team.


District 21-5A Baseball

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Josh Pettitte, Sr., pitcher, Deer Park

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Ramiro Sanchez, Fr., SS, Port Arthur Memorial

COACH OF THE YEAR: Chris Rupp, Deer Park


Pitchers: Ricky Salinas, North Shore; Kyle Hill, Baytown Sterling; Colten Schmidt, La Porte; Devon Roedhal, Beaumont West Brook; Ross Vickessen, Deer Park.

Designated hitter: Jordan Gardea, Deer Park

UTIL: Derek Boehnke, Deer Park

Catcher: Charles Guillory, West Brook

First base: Cameron Gregory, Sterling

Second base: Brett Boudreaux, Sterling

Third base: Xavier Leal, North Shore

Shortstop: Derek Paddie, Sterling

Outfield: Nick Buckner, North Shore; Vincent Vega, Deer Park; Jared Gore, Deer Park; Zack Vershel, West Brook.


Pitchers: Blake Garrett, La Porte; Cullen McDonald, La Porte; Ivan Mendoza, Sterling.

Catcher: Zack Garcia, Sterling

First base: Jordan Gardea, Deer Park

Second base: Rey Fuentes, Deer Park

Third base: Tyler Smith, Deer Park

Shortstop: Clay Thompson, Deer Park

Outfield: Ricky Steltzer, Channelview; Mike Lopez, North Shore; Brandon Horne, Sterling; Nathan Herod, La Porte.


Memorial: Jokusay Nakao; Gama Martinez; Jonathan Sanchez; Robert Howard.


District 20-4A Baseball

MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Carson Raines, Nederland

OFFENSIVE MVP: Jon Smith, Vidor

DEFENSIVE MVP: Dylan Saatzer, PN-G


FRESHMAN: Brandon Young

CO-COACHES OF THE YEAR: Cody Robbins, Nederland; Mike Stewart, Lumberton


Pitchers: Brandon Humphrey, LC-M; Matt White, Lumberton; Mitchell Sanderson, Nederland; Logan Ashworth, PN-G; Andrew Lantrip, Livingston; Aaron Chambers, Ozen

Catcher: Colby Sciarrilla, Vidor

First base: James Swan, LC-M; Aaron Sampere, Nederland

Second base: Daniel Mullins, PN-G; Michael Shaw, Nederland

Shortstop: Dalton Croft, Vidor; Caleb Guder, Ozen

Third base: Jared Ramoin, Nederland

Outfield: Remington Carbaugh, Lumberton; Chandler Crawford, Ozen; Coby Roddy, LC-M; Seth Barrow, Nederland; Jordan Wood, Nederland; Dillon Hebert, PN-G

Utility: Greg Michael, Lumberton

Designated hitter: Tyler Lelanc, Livingston


Pitchers: Jay Moore, Ozen; Chris Campbell, Lumberton; Christian Wendt, LC-M; Lance LeDoux, PN-G; Eric Foshee, Vidor

First base: Jermichael Simon, Central

Second base: Tyler Spell, Nederland

Shortstop: Ryan Erickson, Lumberton

Third base: Brennon Moore, LC-M; Mason Vizena, PN-G

Utility: Brandon Self, Nederland

Outfield: Kaleb Clark, PN-G; Wesley Parks, Vidor; Gabe NeVala, Nederland; Dylan Gruber, LC-M; AnferNee Wilson, Livingston

Catcher: Yancey Foster, PN-G; Bryan Feltman, Nederland

Designated hitter: Jace Robertson, LC-M


District 20-4A Softball


PITCHERS OF THE YEAR: Gia Johns, Vidor; Hallie Smith, Livingston

DEFENSIVE MVP: Shanice Hagler, Vidor




Pitchers: Makayla Kelly, Nederland; Maddison Ohler, Lumberton

Catchers: Taylor Fraccastoro, LC-M; Randee Crawford, Livingston

Infield: Keeli Milligan, Vidor; Ricki Gilbert, PN-G; Kelsey Beard, Nederland; Kaleigh Roy, LC-M

Outfielders: Tori Cooper, Nederland; Morgan Babineaux, LC-M; Kalli Edwards, Vidor

Utility: Taylor Harvill, Lumberton


Pitchers: Shelby Valentine, PN-G; Whitney Howerton, Vidor

Catchers: Nicole Matise, Nederland; Ryanne Lunceford, PN-G

Infielders: Jensen Richard, Nederland; Savana Guidry, Nederland; Ashley Bunner, Vidor; Chelsea McLain, LC-M

Outfielders: Hailey McClendon, Livingston; Mikaela Stegall, LC-M; Nicole Thorn, PN-G

Utility: Hope Russell, LC-M


Text Only
From the Fieldhouse blog