, Port Arthur, Texas


December 14, 2013

Bruins win Bulldogs Classic

NEDERLAND — Port Arthur Memorial shrugged off several poor periods Saturday yet overtime was not kind to the Titans as the West Brook Bruins won the Nederland Bulldogs Classic.

The Bruins outscored the Titans 12-2 in the overtime period and got eight points from the tournament’s MVP, Michael Zeno.

Zeno scored 15 points in all and pulled in nine rebounds.

“This is an awesome tournament,” West Brook Coach Samuel Simon said. “There are top class teams. Teams like Silsbee, West Orange-Stark, Nederland, HCYA and Memorial really put some talent on the floor. There are college guys all over the court every game. We thank God just to be a part of the tournament.”

West Brook had not won the tournament since 1994. The Bruins back then won three straight Bulldogs Classic from 1992-94.

Memorial got a game-high 28 points from All-Tournament player Dorian Chatman who also grabbed 11 rebounds.

The Bruins did a great job in defending Memorial’s Torian Lott. Lott, who was also named to the All-Tournament team, finished with six points. All six came in the second half. He also had five rebounds.

Memorial found itself down 29-19 at the break yet got five of those points back from West Brook in the third.

The Titans were down three, 39-36, heading into the fourth and got a big shot from Albert Jacobs. Jacobs drained a three-pointer, his only points in the game, midway through the fourth to close the gap to two points.

Memorial outscored West Brook 15-12 in the fourth to tie the game at 51 heading into the overtime period.

West Brook held the ball for the final 50 seconds of regulation yet did not get a decent shot off as time expired.

West Brook started the overtime period on a 6-0 run.

Rickey Guillory added 15 points and 13 rebounds for the Bruins while Jordan Green had 14 points.

Text Only
From the Fieldhouse blog