, Port Arthur, Texas

June 6, 2011

Sabine Pass one-act play wins silver at state

Courtesy Photo

SABINE PASS — The Sabine Pass ISD One-Act Play cast, crew, directors, and fans made the trip to Austin for the May 11, 2011, state round of competition.  The play, Permanent Collection, was awarded the Silver Medal. Cole Williams was named Best Actor and Ty Thomas was named to the All-Star Cast.

Cole Williams was also awarded The Samuel French Award, the highest acting award in the state, for his role as Paul Barrow.   The first Samuel French Award was given at the 4th annual One-Act Play state meet in 1930 and it has become a pinnacle of achievement for young actors in Texas.   Only one actor at each level of state competition receives this honor.

Other cast members include Gonzalo Alvarez as Alfred Morris,  Shanik Ifield as Ella Franklin, Aja Baise as Kanika Weaver, and Ashley Hebertas Gillian Crane.  Assisting as the play’s crew were Chelsea Francois (sound), Kaitlyn Broussard (lights), Natalie Collazo (stage director), David Uher, and Quincy Roberts (running crew).  The play was directed by Brad Durio, Isabel Harvey, and Andy Bates.

Sabine Pass School started out as one of 276 schools competing in One-Act Play contests that beganin March.  They won top honors at Zone, District, Area, and Regional competitions, along with individual honors going to cast and crew members along the way.  

Permanent Collection, written by Thomas Gibbons, involves an African-American businessman Sterling North, played by Ty Thomas, who becomes the new director of the Morris Foundation.  He discovers that this world-famous art collection includes several significant African sculptures tucked away in storage. His proposal to add them to the public galleries is opposed by the foundation's long-time education director, Paul Barrow, played by Cole Williams.  Barrow is loyal to the idiosyncratic wishes of the late Dr. Morris, founder and owner of the museum, who wants the exhibited art to remain the same.